33rd Tirreno Adriatico, Hors Category

Italy, March 11-18, 1998

The Stages

  • Stage 1 - Sorrento - Sorrento, 133 kms.
  • Stage 2 - Sorrento - Baia Domizia, 164 kms.
  • Stage 3 - Sessa Aurunca - Venafro, 167 kms.
  • Stage 4 - Venafro - Tivoli, 208 kms.
  • Stage 5 - Tivoli - Torricella Sicura, 215 kms.
  • Stage 6 - Teramo - Frontone, 224 kms.
  • Stage 7 - Civitanova Marche - Civitanova Marche, 164 kms.
  • Stage 8 - Grottammare - S. Benedetto del Tronto, 162 kms.

Cipollini to ride

Mario Cipollini, will be the at the starting line in Sorrento for the 1998 Tirreno-Adriatico after an absence of 7 years. "In the last seasons, I always used Paris-Nice as part of my path towards Milano-San Remo. I have been in love with Paris-Nice because there were always many occasions for sprints, while in Italy what has been fashionable are nervous finishes Argentin style." Cipollini said.

"This year I was going back to France, but now I'm convinced that the situation has flipped around and my category will be better off in Italy. So I'm sincerely happy to race at Tirreno-Adriatico".

Cipollini had to retire at the Tour of Valencia due to the flu and didn't train for 5 days. "I'm coming back. I'm fine physically although my form is a little retarded. I can't expect great things at the beginning of Tirreno-Adriatico, I want above all to leave well the race, so that I can reach Milano-Sanremo with my ambition of always. Sanremo is a great dream, the only race that really makes me nervous. The same motivation at the Giro d'Italia and the Tour de France".

The sprinting battles are going to be very hot at Tirreno-Adriatico with Nicola Minali, Endrio Leoni, Erik Zabel, Mario Traversoni, Jeroen Blijlevens, Federico Colonna and Massimo Strazzer, who have already had wins this year and others like Jan Svorada and Silvio Martinello.

Cipollini said: "If I find my best condition I won't have a problem with any of them. I'm afraid that I'm a bit behind in my form".

Which you one do you consider to be your most dangerous adversary?

"They are all going well. The most solid one is Minali, although I don't see big differences. At Siracusa, Nicola won in a photo finish ahead of Martinello and Svorada. Also Leoni is going well. Traversoni has the numbers, but he's young and doesn't have many wins. Zabel seems to be less potent than usual, I think that his preparation is gearing towards the great Classics like Milano-San Remo and the Tour of Flanders and is thinking less of the sprint finish."

The Teams

There are 23 teams registered with 14 Italian and 9 foreign, composed of 184 riders:

Saeco-Cannondale, Mapei-Bricobì, Festina-Lotus (Fra),
Telekom (Ger), Rabobank (Ola), Casino (Fra), TVM-Farm
Frites (Ola), La Francaise des Jeux (Fra), Team Polti,
Cofidis (Fra), Asics-CGA, Vitalicio Seguros (Spa),   
Mercatone Uno-Bianchi, Cantina Tollo-Alexia Alluminio, 
Ballan, Scrigno-Gaerne, Ros Mary-Amica Chips,   
Brescialat-Liquigas, Riso Scotti-Aiwa, Kross-Selle
Italia (Col), Vini Caldirola-Longoni Sport,
Amore&Vita-ForzArcore, Mobilvetta-Northwave. 

Some of the more favoured riders registered are: Jan Ullrich, Laurent Brochard, Michele Bartoli, Mario Cipollini and Erik Zabel. Completing the field: Elli, Petito, Casagrande, Tafi, Bugno, Chiappucci, Figueras, Fondriest and Minali. Past Winners

1966	Dino Zandegu (Ita)
1967	Franco Bitossi (Ita)
1968	Giovanni Micheletto (Ita)
1969	Carlo Chiappano (Ita)
1970	Antoine Houbrechts (Bel)
1971	Italo Zilioli (Ita)
1972	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1973	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1974	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1975	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1976	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1977	Roger De Vlaeminck (Bel)
1978	Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)
1979	Knut Knudsen (Nor)
1980	Francesco Moser (Ita)
1981	Francesco Moser (Ita)
1982	Giuseppe Saronni (Ita)
1983	Roberto Visentini (Ita)
1984	Tommy Priem (Swe)
1985	Joop Zoetemelk (Ned)
1986	Luciano Rabottoni (Ita)
1987	Rolf Sörensen (Den)
1988	Erich Maechler (Swi)
1989	Tony Rominger (Swi)
1990	Tony Rominger (Swi)
1991	Herminio Diaz-Zabala (Spa)
1992	Rolf Sörensen (Den)
1993	Maurizio Fondriest (Ita)
1994	Giorgio Furlan (Ita)
1995	Stefano Colage (Ita)
1996	Francesco Casagrande (Ita)
1997	Roberto Petito (Ita)
1998	?