Tour of Luxembourg, Cat 2.2

Luxembourg, June 11-14, 1998

1997 Results    

Stage 1 - Pétange-Diekirch, 190 kms
Stage 2 - Wormeldange-Bertrange, 174 kms
Stage 3 - Dudelange-Beckerich, 105 kms
Stage 4 - Leudelange-Bettembourg, 78 kms
Stage 5 - Diekirch-Diekirch, 179 kms


Belgian Frank Vandenbroucke (Mapei), the 1997 winner will defend his trophy in the 1998 edition of the Tour of Luxembourg which runs from Thursday to Sunday. The other notable aspect of the race is the return to Europe of American Lance Armstrong (US Postal). Vandenbroucke will head a strong team of Belgian and Italian riders which includes Tom Steels and Wilfried Peeters.

The Tour of Luxembourg benefits this year from the inclusion of several top riders in the European peloton who have come here to train for the Tour de France which starts a week later than usual. Along with the number one rider in the world, Laurent Jalabert the field boasts Bjarne Riis (1996 Tour winner), Italian Marco Pantani (recent Giro winner), and Alex Zulle.

The organisation has increased the difficulty of the route and hope that the race will still be undecided by the last stage, Diekirch-Diekirch, so that the interest is maintained. This has been lacking in previous editions of the race.

Mapei: Frank Vandenbroucke, Tom Steels, Wilfried Peeters, Gianluca Pianegonda
Telekom: Erik Zabel, Giovanni Lombardi, Bert Dietz
Casino: Alberto Elli, Rolf Jaermann, Jann Kirsipuu, Jacky Durand
Rabobank: Leon van Bon, Maarten Den Bakker, Erik Dekker
TVM: Servais Knaven, Peter Van Petegem, Jeroen Blijlevens, Laurent Roux
GAN: Eddy Seigneur, Magnus Backstedt, Cyril Bos
Lotto: Andrei Tchmil, Jo Planckaert
Cofidis: Francesco Casagrande, Massimiliano Lelli, Cyril Saugrain
US Postal: Lance Armstrong, George Hincapie
Jack and Jones: Arvis Piziks, Jesper Skibby