Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

2007 Team rosters

Plowman Craven-Evans Cycles Racing Team announce '07 arrangements

Evans Cycles, the UK's largest specialist cycle retailer, is to share title sponsorship of successful British cycling team Plowman Craven for the forthcoming 2007 season. The team will now be known as Plowman Craven - Evans Cycles Racing Team.

"We're thrilled to be associated with the Team for 2007", said Ben Hart, Evans Cycles Marketing Manager. "Our involvement is not just about getting the Evans Cycles message out to cycling fans, but it's also our way of supporting some of the best athletes that British road and track cycling has to offer".

The British outfit will also be riding new locally-designed team bikes supplied by Pinnacle, which are sold exclusively at Evans Cycles stores throughout the country. The team has also signed new riders for '07, including former elite circuit series winner and national derny champion, Simon Gaywood. Meanwhile, Malcolm Elliot, 2006 winner of the British Cycling Elite Circuit Race Series, has decided not to continue with the team this year.

"Last year was a fantastic first season for the team" said Simon Barnes, Plowman Craven's CEO. "The results fully justified our faith in setting up the team, and now for a company of the calibre of Evans Cycles to join us as joint title sponsor shows just how far the team has come in a year. With such a high-profile title sponsor, new bikes and new riders, as well as being UCI registered, 2007 looks set to be an exciting year."

The outfit enjoyed a successful first season in 2006, winning a total of three National and one world title. As well as Malcolm Elliot taking the Elite Circuit Race series, Tony Gibb was the UK's number one ranked domestic rider, National Madison and Omnium Champion, and James Taylor won not only the National Madison title with Gibbs but gold at the National Criterium Championship.

"For me, this team is all about quality and professionalism. We have the best support and back up from Plowman Craven and the best equipment from Evans Cycles and Pinnacle bikes," said Gibb. "With the additional riders joining us this year I am sure we will produce another year of great results which will go some way to repaying the commitment from Plowman Craven and Evans Cycles."

2007 Plowman Craven - Evans Cycles Racing Team roster:
Tony Gibb (GBr)
James Taylor (GBr)
Gordon McCauley (NZl)
James McCallum (GBr)
Freddy Johansson (Swe)
James Millard (GBr)
Simon Gaywood (GBr)
Brian Biggs (NZl)
Adam Norris (GBr)
Kevin Barclay (GBr)

Garry Beckett
Peter Taylor

2007 team rosters