Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

2006 Team rosters

2006 Sunrise Sports Cycling Team

With the official Michigan racing season starting on April 29, the Sunrise Sports Cycling Team has announced its roster for 2006. Based out of Ann Arbor and Southeastern, Michigan, USA, the team will be racing throughout Michigan and the Midwest. The team is composed of USCF Category 1&2, Category 3, and Junior 16-18 Men and is associated with the Ann Arbor Velo Club, one of the largest USCF racing clubs in Michigan.

Additionally, the Sunrise Sports Junior Men's team is one of only six programs nationwide to be selected by Jittery Joe's Coffee Roasting Co. to receive their Junior Development Program sponsorship. With the support of Jittery Joe's, the team will be sending it’s Juniors Team to race at the USCF Junior National Road Championships in Silver Springs, Pennsylvania, from July 5-17, 2006.

"With sponsorship from Sunrise Sports and Jittery Joe's we've have really focused our program," said Joe Lekovish, team co-manager. "In 2006, our Juniors team will aim for good performances at the Road Nationals and the UCI World Cup Race and at the Tour De l’Abitibi (Quebec, Canada). Additionally, within Michigan the team will target the Overall Michigan Challenge and Category 1,2 Team Cup, as well as the unofficial 'World Championships of Michigan', the Tour De Leelanau on September 16."

The full 2006 roster outlines as follows:

Elite Category 1,2:

Jeff Hamilton - Team Captain/Elite Coach
Andrew Weir
Jason Rafeld
Ian Lockley
Robert Iser
Vince Roberge
Derek Timmermann
Ricardo Lung
Gary DeAngelis
Paul Kundrat

Senior Category 3:

Joe Lekovish
John Rigdon
Mark Caswell
Jordan Stohl
Randy Hermann
Jeff Elam
Jason Brake
Rich Stark
Craig Rice
Dominick Zaccone
Brian Rosewarne
Mark Lovejoy

Junior Men 16-18:

Alex Keomany
Stephen Christy
John Zaccone
Ryan Buermann
Taylor Birmann
Rafael Kronenburg

The Sunrise Sports Cycling Team is sponsored by: Sunrise Sports, Liquid Mfg, Inc., Jittery Joe's Coffee Roasting Co., BLUE Competition Cycles, Maxxis Tires, Ritchey Bicycle Components, Bell Bike Helmets, and the Ann Arbor Velo Club.

2006 team rosters