Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

2006 Team rosters

Subaru Cycling Team announces 2006 roster

The Subaru Cycling Team presented by Deutsche Bank has announced its team roster and sponsors for the coming year. The Subaru Cycling Team is an elite men's squad based in Atlanta, GA. Its USCF club, Roswell Velo also supports a club-level men's team and the Travelgirl women's cycling team. Roswell Velo also organises and promotes the 5th annual Nalley Historic Roswell Criterium, an NRC event on April 30th.

The Subaru Cycling Team will return a strong lineup from the 2005 season including 2005 USCF Men's Elite Road Race podium finisher Jed Schneider, US 100K Classic podium finisher Wes Garland, Georgia State criterium champion Brian Bibens and Georgia State Masters road race champion Jim Rassmusen.

"We have 15 Cat 1 & 2 riders allowing us to field two full teams on any given weekend" said Jed Schneider, director of the men's elite team. The 2006 team will also feature three US Under 23 National Team riders John Murphy, Michael Wolf and Winston David. These riders will wear the Subaru Cycling Team kit stateside when they are not representing the US National Team.

Coming onboard for the 2006 season, Subaru of America will replace A.G. Edwards as the primary sponsor for Roswell Velo's elite men's racing programme. Subaru will also be joined by presenting sponsor Deutsche Bank. Longtime equipment sponsor Roswell Bicycles will be providing the team with Cannondale Six-13 bikes, Diadora Shoes and Bell Sweep Helmets.

"We feel joining forces with one of the best cycling organizations in the Southeast is an excellent opportunity to build Subaru brand awareness and support the sport of cycling" responded Brian Kotenko, Regional Marketing Manager of Subaru of America. "We're thrilled to have Subaru as our primary sponsor and look forward to a long term relationship where we can build our programme into one of the top amateur squads in the U.S." replied Michael Johnson, President of Roswell Velo.

Additional sponsors for 2006 include:

Maxxis, Smith, French Broad Brewery, Santi & Associates, Colby Kidd Designs, Dedicated Athlete/Rapid Fire

2006 Subaru Cycling Team roster:

Category 1

Brian Bibens
Hayden Brooks (Australia)
John Green
David Guttenplan
Tim Henry
John Murphy
Tiago de Paula (Brazil)
Jed Schneider
Michael Wolf

Category 2

Tommy Bass
Winston Davis
Stephen Carhart
Andrew Daane
Wesley Garland
Clay Parks

Category 3

Bruce Burton
Whit Clifford
Rob Gable
Scott Fast
Eric Kinard
Terry Michelitch
Mike Mitchko
Jim Rasmussen
Barry Sobel
Carl Weaver

Category 4

Ian Buckley
Tyler Hawes
Michael Johnson
Steve Kennedy
Dennis Utter

2006 team rosters