Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

2006 Team rosters

Cycling Center announces 2006 roster, growth plans

The Phoenix, USA-based elite amateur team Cycling Center-Bio Racer has announced the 2006 roster for its Belgian-based racing program, targeted primarily toward elite U.S. amateurs.

In addition, team director Bernard Moerman has outlined growth that has occurred in the past year, including the addition of a second Belgian facility for visiting masters riders and international teams, as well as the start of ties with Veloport Corp. in Albuquerque, N.M., as an early-season training facility for Cycling Center athletes.

The race calendar for Cycling Center riders spans the Atlantic with early- and late-season events in North America, including Valley of the Sun Stage Race in Arizona and Vuelta Sonora in Mexico this spring, as well as the Univest Grand Prix in September. The European racing calendar will centre on UCI races and kermesses in Belgium, as well as UCI races in the Netherlands, Denmark, France, Germany and Luxembourg.

Moerman said his goals for the Cycling Center for 2006 include advancing more young riders to the professional level, building a continental team on both sides of the Atlantic with road, cyclocross and track squads, expanding developmental and educational programs in the United States, and expanding the master's program in Europe.

Moerman also pointed to a number of Cycling Center alumni who have moved to the professional ranks or are leading figures with top amateur teams in the last few years. They include: Bryan Smith, Jake Rytlewski, Dan Bowman, Eric Keim, Jacob Fetty, Tyson Apostol, Austin King, Corey Steinbrecher, Mike Norton, Brian Sheedy, Rudy Robaina, Brian Adams and Jed Schneider.

Support for the Cycling Center and its athletes also comes from various organizations in the United States, including the just-announced Euro-Devo scholarship program for Michigan cyclists, as well as Hotter 'N Hell, a bicycle tour that supports the cycling program at Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas, and the school's athletes at the Cycling Center. Numerous other individuals and clubs also deserve recognition for their financial support of athletes who have been accepted into the program, Moerman said.

With a few spots left open, the main part of the selection for 2006 is known. Here is the 2006 Cycling Center roster with riders' hometown or country. Athletes will be based at the Cycling Center's headquarters in Hertsberge, Belgium, for either all or a portion of the March-through-September season. Espoirs are noted with an asterisk (*):

Matthew Allen (Boulder CO)
Christopher Allison (Fairburn GA)
Matt Bright* (Orem UT)
Mike Bogaert (Brugge, Belgium)
Edward Burress* (Arden NC)
Chris Carlson* (Las Vegas NV)
Arne Defauw* (Hertsberge, Belgium)
Steffan Elzinga* (Canada)
Nathan Fields (East Point GA)
Eric Fostvedt (Boulder CO)
Jaime Gandara (El Paso TX)
Yarden Gazit* (Hod-Hasharon, Israel)
Bret Glembocki (Franklin WI)
Justin Grisham* (Salt Lake City UT)
Nicholas Hight-Huf (Sunnydale CA)
Peter Horn* (Boulder CO)
Graham Howard* (Grand Rapids MI)
Wesley Jacobs (* (South Africa)
Ronald Jensen (Buckeye AZ)
Chris Jones (New Haven CT)
Paul Kronser* (Middleton WI)
Lere Lambrechts (Vanderbijlpark, South Africa)
Robert Lofgran (Douglas AZ)
Sean Mazich* (Yuma AZ)
Alex Moore (Santa Barbara CA)
David Mullholland (Ireland)
David Nelson* (Tucson AZ)
Alvin Nordell (Kalamazoo MI)
Whit Oliver (Atlanta GA)
Aaron Pool* (Omaha NE)
Kiel Reijnen* (Bainbridge Island WA)
Vincent Roberge* (Redford MI)
Javier Rodriguez (Mexico)
Nathan Rogers (San Francisco CA)
Santiago Rossell* (Winter Park FL)
Gray Skinner* (Nashville TN)
Adam Steelman* (Manassas VA)
Bret Stewart* (Munster IN)
Scott Tietsel* (Boulder CO)
Derek Timmerman* (East Lansing MI)
Chris Vancoillie* (South Africa)
Kevin Vandersteene* (Diksmuide, Belgium)
Dominic Van Nielen* (Kingwood TX)
Steven Van Vooren* (Eeklo, Belgium)
Christopher Wilson* (Hyannis MA)
Jason Woods (West Lafayette IN)

European staff: Bernard Moerman, general manager and team director; Ann Dusauchoit, logistic manager and soigneur; Dr. Dag Van Elslande, team physician; Noel Tahon, soigneur; Wouter Van Wettere, mechanic; Geert Van Walleghem, assistant director sportif; Kurt Van Lancker, race advisor; Gert De Mey and Herman Boyden, race support.

U.S. staff: The Cycling Center is also supported in the United States by cycling-related professionals, including coaches Barney King, Gary Achterberg, Dirk Friel and Ben Sharp. Others involved closely include Dr. Andy Pruitt, Ed.D., PA; Dr. L. Jon Porman, D.C., CCSP; and Dr. Kristen Dieffenbach, sport psychologist.

Sponsors: Bio Racer, race clothing; Nike, team clothing; Rudy Project, helmets and glasses; MBK, bicycle frames; Oval Concepts, handlebars, stems, forks and seatposts; Fi'zi:k, saddles; Time, pedals; Maxxis, tires; SRM, power meter; Tacx, ergometers, rollers and bottle cages; Volkswagen, fleet; Sports and Cultural Entertainment, race support and event organization; Sportsbase Online, logistic support; Veloport Corporation Albuquerque, training facilities; Clif Bar, race food; Bional, food supplements; Compex, electro muscle stimulators; Altitude Tech, altitude rooms; Bavo Sauna Bouw, sauna infrared room, steam room; Penta Reizen, travel agent; ING, bank, and Byrne Specialty Gases.

Web site:

2006 team rosters