Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on Cyclingnews.com


Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

2006 Team rosters

Independent Fabrication/Kempner Women's cycling team

The Independent Fabrication/Kempner women's road racing team has announced its roster and sponsors for 2006. This elite women's team was originally founded by Independent Fabrication President Matt Bracken in 1996 while he was employed at Merlin as VP of sales and marketing. Bracken left for Independent Fabrication (IF) in 1999 took his commitment to supporting elite women's road racing (and three of his original Merlin riders) with him, making this one of the longest running elite amateur road teams around.

"I started the women's team so that more outstanding female athletes would have a team and a company that supported them well in a male-dominated industry and sport," he said.

The title sponsor is Independent Fabrication, a custom bicycle frame design and production company headquartered in Somerville, Mass. Thomas L. Kempner Jr., of Davidson Kempner Capital Management LLC, assumed the role of second title sponsor in 2005 after two seasons at the associate level. Tom Kempner is the executive managing member of a New York-based investment management firm and a proud IF owner.

This Category 1 /2 women's road team competes in a full calendar of local, regional and national events while its members maintain full-time professional careers.

2006 Roster

Brenda Bahnson (Cat. 1)
Pauline Frascone (Cat. 1)
Lisa Maxwell (Cat. 2)
Heather Peck (Cat. 1)
Michele Smith (Cat. 2)
Marianne Stover (Cat. 1)

Directeur sportif: Matt Bracken

Title Sponsors

Independent Fabrication: www.ifbikes.com
Tom Kempner

Associate Sponsors

Arcadian Shop (outdoor specialty store) www.arcadian.com
Brave Soldier (athletic skincare) www.bravesoldier.com
Clif Bar (nutrition) www.clifbar.com
Giro (helmets) www.giro.com
Housatonic LLC (real estate) – Web site not available
Hutchinson (tubes & tires) tires.hutchinson.fr
ITM (stems, handlebars, seatposts) www.itm.it
Matty B. – Web site not available
Mavic (wheelsets) www.mavic.com
Reynolds Composites (carbon fibre forks) www.reynoldscomposites.com
Security Bicycle Accessories (components) www.securitybicycle.com
Smith (eyewear) www.smithsport.com
Stella Azzurra (handlebar tape) www.stellaazzurra.com
Time (pedals and shoes) www.timesportusa.com
Verge (cycling clothing) www.vergesport.com
William Caligari Interiors/Architecture www.williamcaligari.com

Team website: www.ifbikes.com/racing2/womens-team.shtml

2006 team rosters