Cyclingnews - the world centre of cycling Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recent News

January 2009
February 2009
March 2009
April 2009
May 2009
June 2009
July 2008
August 2008
September 2008
October 2008
November 2008
December 2008

2007 & earlier

Recently on

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

2005 Team rosters

Eclipse Racing

The Eclipse Racing Team returns this year as a mix of young aggressive talent and veteran racers. The team will kick off its season at this year's Valley of the Sun Stage Race (Phoenix, AZ) which will serve as the team's first official race outing.

Seven riders will return from 2004 to the Cat 1/2 team, with four new Cat 3 additions rounding out the 12 man squad. With three riders under the age of 23, Eclipse Racing will function as a junior development team, masters, and category 1/2 team focusing on USCF races and top National Racing Calendar races in the U.S. "I'm looking forward to taking this group of riders to the biggest races in the US and teaching these guys to race and present themselves as up and coming pros," said returning Manager/Director Scott Blanchard. "We have some great young talent as well as older guys who are committed to the teaching the younger guys how to both race and win. Eclipse Racing will surprise a lot of people this year!"

Returning to the Eclipse Racing team is veteran Scott Blanchard (Director/ TT specialist / all-arounder) of Tucson, Arizona, on a comeback after a winning 2004 year, with a win at the 2004 Vuelta de Bisbee and top 25 finishes at the 2004 Cascade Cycling Classic, Tour of the Gila, and Boulevard Road Race. Also returning is 2004 Arizona State TT Junior Champion Cliff Redig (climber / Tucson, AZ). Returning to the team are Eclipse Racing's sprinter's Garrett Ford (TT specialist / sprinter, Tucson, AZ), 1st place Thunder Mountain TT and 2nd Place San Diego Cyclo-Vets TT and Jeff Parker (sprinter / Tucson, AZ) 1st Place 2004 Cochise County Cycling Classic Road Race and 2004 Picacho Peak Time Trial Series.

New to the team is a David Glick with an impressive 2004 year with 1st place finishes at Kitt Peak, Mt. Lemmon and Mt. Graham TT making him a threat in the hills. Rounding out the team are returning members Dan Distefano (all-around / Tucson, AZ) USCF Men's Cat 2 Arizona Road Race #1 Ranking, Travis Huxman (all-arounder, Tucson, AZ) 1st Place 2004 Kino Criterium Race, Jonathan Mentzer (all-arounder, Tucson, AZ), Jason Kerew (all-arounder, Tucson, AZ) 1st Place 2001 Colossal Cave RR, Shane Peltonen (climber, Tucson, AZ) 1997 Iowa State RR Championship, Jeff Hoppert (TT specialist, Tucson, AZ) 2002 Arizona State TT Championship, and Kyle Colavito (climber, Tucson, AZ) 2003 Espoir Arizona State RR & Hill Climb Champion.

Team roster

Scott Blanchard - 35 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Dan Distefano - 39 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Travis Huxman - 35 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Jason Kerew - 32 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Shane Peltonen - 33 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Jeff Hoppert - 31 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Kyle Colavito - 24 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Garrett Ford - 35 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Jeff Parker - 31 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
David Glick - 23 - Tucson, Arizona - USA
Cliff Redig - 17 - Tucson, Arizona - USA

Manager/Director: Scott Blanchard
Business Director: Dan Distefano
Business Director: Garrett Ford
Marketing Director: Jeff Parker


Arizona Title Agency /
Baja Spas /
Crank Sports/E-Gel /
Dunafon Development
Fluoresco Lighting & Signs /
Oro Valley Bicycle /
Pyramid Coaching International /
Specialized /
Sportack /


2005 team rosters