Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

New Zealand MTB Hillclimb Championships - CN

Whakarewarewa Forest, Rotorua, New Zealand, February 1, 2003


Wilding, Pryde take titles in "less serious" hill climb

Courtesy NZMBA

The 8km hill climb had riders heading to 430m. Although the race wasn't designed to be as serious as the national downhill and cross country events, all participants rode hard with only one local competitor dressing up his fixed wheel bike with tassels and a fur.

Out of the eight Pro-elite competitors, Tim Wilding of Taupo came in first in a time of 25min 54s and won the cash prize of $500 for the fastest male.

Suzie Pryde phoned her entry in from Auckland and arrived four minutes before the race was due to start and still managed an impressive time of 31min 32s to win the fastest female title and earned herself the $500 cash prize. Pryde is the 2003 National Hill Climb Champ (pro-elite category). Kirsty Robb (Rotorua) who is a professional road cyclist, came first in the senior women category - just under four minutes behind Suzy. (35min 8s)

Simon Kennett (Wellington) who raced cross country for NZ at the first ever world mountain bike championships in Durango, had a superb race to win the Master 30+ class in a time of 27min 55s. Overall Simon came in fourth - which is excellent for him as he is using some of the National Series races as training for the Karapoti Challenge. This is the longest running mountain bike event in Australasia which the Kennett brothers established in 1986. Every year they take turn about to compete and this year is Simon's turn.

Local Marc Mackay (Rotorua), also had a great race only taking 26min 41s to claim the National Hill Climb Champion title in the Senior Men category and finishing second overall.


Pro-Elite Men
1 Tim Wilding (Taupo)              25.54
2 Steve Bale (Wellington)           1.42
3 Mike Northcott (Mt Maunganui)     2.21
4 John MacInnis (USA)               3.06
5 Paul Bishop (Rotorua)             3.17
6 Nick Hotchin (Auckland)           3.55
7 Paul Newnham (UK)                 4.03
8 Phil Rayner (England)             4.54
Pro-Elite Women
1 Susy Pryde (Auckland)            31.32
Single Speed Men
1 Adam Marshment (Rotorua)         31.40
2 Chris Lenth (Rotoiti)             2.51
Junior U17 Men
1 Ryan Marshall (Levin)            29.42
2 Michael Tomasevich (Rotorua)      2.07
3 Aaron Perry (Rotorua)             4.53
4 Carl Fischer (Rotorua)            8.33
5 Carl Jones (Whakatane)           10.07
6 Luke Jensen (Rotorua)            14.54
DNF Jesse Campion (Hamilton)
Junior U17 Women
1 Sarah Collins (Rotorua)          57.33
Junior Men
1 Miles Watson (Hamilton)          28.23
2 Kent James (Whakatane)            2.12
3 Nigel Cross (Rotorua)             2.27
4 Mathew Gorter (Tokorua)           2.38
5 Matt Dewes (Taupo)                3.54
Junior Women
1 Karina Wilkinson (Levin)         40.40
Under 23 Men
1 Mark Chamberlin (Auckland)       32.39
Senior Men
1 Marc Mackay (Rotorua)            26.41
2 Gavin McCarthy (Upper Hutt)       1.46
3 Carl Larsen (Hastings)            6.56
4 Darren Lindsay (Auckland)         8.59
Senior Women
 Kirsty Robb (Rotorua)             35.08
1 Sonia Foote (Rotorua)             2.05
2 Michelle Duffy (Levin)            9.50
Master 30+ Men
1 Simon Kennett (Wellington)       27.55
2 Chris Gaze (Putaruru)             1.51
3 Nick Lambert (Rotorua)            3.43
4 Michael Stylianou (Auckland)      4.24
5 Dave McKay (Rotorua)              8.07
6 Carl Paten (Hamilton)             8.30
7 John McClintock (Tokoroa)        15.29
8 Wayne Ellis (Mt Maunganui)       18.03
Master 30+ Women
1 Kathy Chambers (Rotorua)         39.08
2 Pip Robertson (Rotorua)           6.14
3 Cherie Powick (Wellington)       15.29
Master 40+ Men
1 Patrick Meffan (Nelson)          27.47
2 Marco Renall (Wellington)         2.20
3 Geoff Herbert (New Plymouth)      6.23
4 Neil Poskitt (Rotorua)            7.19
Master 40+ Women
1 Sarah Beadel (Rotorua)           42.52
Master 50+ Men
1 Gordon Hosking (Rotorua)         36.59
2 Evan McRae (Whakatane)            0.20
3 Martin Watt (Rotorua)             1.02