Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results and Reports from Denmark

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews


Odensebanen Junior DM

Slush Cup #1

Geels Skov (DMK), November 17, 2002

Nielsen takes first round in very slushy conditions

By Bo Falck Hansen

Slush Cup is a series that runs for 8 stages during the winter. The name 'Slush Cup' indicates that the winter in Denmark is rather slushy! Each stage is held on an approx. 5 km MTB track and all riders race for an hour plus what may be remaining of a lap. Thus the fastest riders may complete more laps than the less fast. In each stage the winner is given 1 point, number 2 gets 2 point etc. Abandonment results in points corresponding to the number of participants.

The first stage of the 2002-3 Slush Cup was set in the hilly Geels Forrest on a very Slushy day. It was cold and rainy. From the start Danish National Team rider Klaus Nielsen took the lead, followed closely by the promising Kasper Busk (HMTBK). They followed each other until the last round where Nielsen went away on the last lap and gained almost almost 5 minutes on Busk, who broke his rear derailleur cable midway through the lap. After a bike change Kasper managed to regain about a minute of the lost time, but finished 3:36 behind Nielsen. A sprint finish decided the 3rd place, which was claimed by Alexander Norup (Trismus).


Images by Bo Falck Hansen


1 Klaus Nielsen (RMK/Ghost)                  1.00.17
2 Kasper Busk (HMTBK)                           3.36
3 Alexander Norup (Trismus)                     5.50
4 Benjamin Justesen (CK Viking)                 6.06
5 Torsten Tranum-Jensen (Team Kajak)            6.08
6 Jakob Knudsen (LCC)                           6.53
7 Mikael Schrage (HMTBK)                        6.55
8 Jesper Crone (HMTBK)                          7.06
9 Christian Mølholm                             7.59
10 René Johannessen                             8.57
11 Sven Olav Lund (LCC)                         8.58
12 Jimmi Johansen (LCC)                         9.31
13 Asger Nielsen (DMK)                          9.38
14 Frederik Truelsen (Ordrup CC)                9.48
15 Kristoffer hansen (HMTBK)                   10.18
16 Christian Holm (DMK)                        11.36
17 Niels Laursen (RMK)                         11.37
18 Mads Lyhne Daugaard (HMTBK)                 12.21
19 Ole Døssing                                 12.30
20 Carsten Kristiansen                         12.41
21 Peter Green (PI-KBH)                        13.00
22 Bjarne Skak Bossen (Lyngby)                 13.08
23 Jesper Døssing (CSC)                        13.50
24 Niels Hoe-Svendsen (FBL)                    14.07
25 Kasper Hansen                               15.21
26 Clas Lau                                    16.11
27 Thomas Dam Jensen                           18.01
One lap behind
28 Michael Winsløw (PI-KBH)
28 Jan Matthorne (Thrane & Thrane)
28 Kim Davidsen (CC Grøndal)
28 Michael Maisch (PMC)
32 Petter Becker-Jastes (Ordrup CC)
33 Morten Christensen
34 Lasse Åkerström (Lyngby)
35 Bo Jørgensen (S-team)
36 Christoffer Nygaard (Team Darkdog)
37 Jels Thorden
38 Søren Jensen (Birkerød)
39 Søren 'Kylling' Gabriel
40 Christian Moltke-Leth
41 Jens Mølvig (PMC)
42 Michael Daugbjerg
43 Rikke A Frederiksen
44 Steffen Jansson (Team Darkdog)
45 Michael Svensson
46 Jacob Luttermann
47 Nicolai Smidt (Tølløse MTB)
Two laps behind
48 Carsten Liedersdorff (HMTBK)
49 Mikkel B Hansen
50 Ken Jensen (Team Darkdog)
51 Magnus P Lund (LCC)
52 Niels Skak Bossen (Lyngby)
DNF Michael Kongsgaard
DNF Peter Bentsen (IFI)
DNF Jesper Daugård (Farum)
DNF Kenneth Kierbyholm (Tølløse MTB)
DNF Kristian Sørensen (Spring Cup DK)
DNF Michael Cordtz (DMK)
DNF Louis Lind Plesner (LCC)
DNF Vagn Åkerström (Lyngby)
DNF Jonas Madsen
DNF Jacob Bachiry (Team Darkdog)
DNF Jesper Schandorff (PI-KBH)
DNF Lars Mandal (HMTBK)
DNF Rune Boas (SCOK)
DNF Martin F Hansen (LCC)
DNF Mads Skak Bossen (Lyngby)
DNF Henrik Pedersen (RMK)
DNF Rasmus Soelberg (Team NBB)
DNF Jens Abrahamsson (DMK)
DNF Ronnie Stormly (Team Darkdog)

Previous Results from Denmark