Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Results and Reports for June 29-July 6, 2002


Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to cyclingnews

Bray GP




Gilmore Signs - Northern Ireland League - Round 5

Loughermore , Co. Derry 30 June, 2002

How cold was it?

Report courtesy MTBIreland.com

What month is it again....??? Did someone say July, well looks like someone forgot to mention that to Mother Nature. For some reason she is under the impression that it is still winter. The longest day of the year has just passed and its the time of year we work on getting our cyclists tans which usually help other cyclists pick us out on the beaches around Europe.....but not last Sunday. The heavens opened and top temperatures of 11 degrees were the conditions that faced the riders that made the trip to Loughermore in Co.Derry for round 5 of the Gilmore Signs Northern Ireland league.

With the road race champs and the world cup also on Sunday, mountain bike racing took a back seat for a lot of riders. For those who made the trip northwards another great course greeted them with lots of single track climbs and descents which all stayed pretty firm for the entire race.

In the Elite race the most noticeable rider absent was Glen Kinning. Glen who is currently training for the commonwealth games made the trip to Stamullen for the road champs. Taking the honours was fellow X-MTB rider Simon Loughlin. All the underage events were also won by X-MTB riders which is a very positive note for the moulding of future champions. The junior event was won by Lewis Ferguson (X-MTB) who managed to lap all the other juniors. In the sports race G. BLAIR (X-MTB) took first place while W. MULLIGAN (Banbridge CC) and M. FORESTER (U/A) broke the X-MTB clean sweep with wins in the Masters and Vets respectively.


1 W. Boyd (X-MTB)                 13.03
2 M. Myles (Banbridge CC)          5.19
1 C. Brown (X-MTB)                23.40
2 N. Mcgimpsey (X-MTB)              .06
3 R. Davidson (X-MTB)              2.30
4 C. Blayney (X-MTB)               3.20
5 J. Laird (X-MTB)                 3.42
6 M. Gordon (X-MTB)                7.00
7 P. Myles (Banbridge CC)          7.35
8 E. McConvey Jnr. (X-MTB)        1 Lap
1 R. Mcdermid (X-MTB)             32.37
2 C. McConvey (X-MTB)               .11
3 N. McCormick (Banbridge CC)       .49
4 G. Boyd (X-MTB)                  2.38
5 D. Gordon (X-MTB)                3.02
1 A. MCCullough (X-MTB)         1.58.35
2 A. Mcgarry (X-MTB)               5.59
3 M. Ferguson (X-MTB)             10.46
1 L. Ferguson (X-MTB)           1.36.06
2 S. Curran (Banbridge CC)        1 Lap
3 P. Macsorley (Apollo)

1 G. Blair (X-MTB)              1.24.27
2 P. Jones (Hi-Elbow)              1.28
3 S. Logan (Team Madigan)          2.02
4 S. Galloway (Team Worc)          4.11
5 P. Anderson (Banbridge CC)       5.03
6 J. Gillespie (Banbridge CC)     13.38
7 J. Laird (X-MTB)                20.37
8 G. MCCrory (Ballyclare)         24.23

1 M. Forester (U/A)             1.29.21
2 G. Coupland (Apollo)            11.13
3 E. McConvey Snr. (X-MTB)        17.26
4 A. Potts (Banbridge CC)         27.19
5 S. Curran (Banbridge CC)        1 Lap
1 W. Mulligan (Banbridge CC)    1.43.15
2 P. MCCann (Banbridge CC)          .01
3 M. Bartley (U/A)                22.35

1 S. Loughlin (X-MTB)           2.00.37
2 C. Caldwell (North West CC)      4.20
3 P. Jennings (Banbridge CC)      13.58
4 D. Gill (Team Worc)               Dnf
5 D. Travers (Banbridge CC)

Previous results from Ireland