Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Allianz Swiss Cup XC #4 - E1

Silvaplana, Switzerland, May 12, 2002

Allianz Suisse Cup in Silvaplana

By Andreas Seeli

Christoph Sauser and Barbara Blatter won with splendid summer weather the busy Suisse Cup of Silvaplana. Barbara Blatter left the second woman at about 23 sec., and Christoph Sauser won over the winner of the three first legs and actual leader of the Suisse Cup Julien Absalon with a 36 sec. gap.

The race took place in a wonderful place. The race circuit was very exciting, though very tough too. In the men’s race, Sauser and Absalon immediately took the lead and only Bundi could keep up with the lead, or stay close with the two men. But then he paid his efforts and had to let Cattin taking the 3rd place. Thomas Frischknecht was also overtaken by Cattin who made a very good finish. But Frischi was happy with his 5th place, it was though a good comeback after his injuries and illnesses problems. And for the future we have to reckon with him again.

Also the results of the other Swisspower riders are remarkable. In the Elite race could Julien and Valentin reach the top 20, and Florian Vogel finished at the 25th place facing a problem with his forward drive train.

Emilie Siegenthaler led during quite a long time the junior race, but had to loose time and though finished 2nd behind Bettina Schmid. Sonja Traxel unfortunately faced big misfortune as she folded her chain, causing considerable transmission problems. But nevertheless she finished at the 10th place.

Now, we are all looking forward to the Frischi Bike Challenge taking place the next weekend in Flims / Laax / Falera.


Men Elite
 1 Christoph Sauser (Swi) Volvo Cannondale
 2 Julien Absalon (FRA) Motorex Bianchi          36.6
 3 Pascal Cattin (Swi) Scott Allianz Suisse    2.10.2
 4 Silvio Bundi (Swi) Athleticum MTB Team      2.33.2
 5 Thomas Frischknecht (Swi) Swisspower        2.59.6
16 Julien Girard (Swi) Swisspower              7.35.9
20 Valentin Girard (Swi) Swisspower           10.21.2
25 Florian Vogel (Swi) Swisspower             11.48.2
Women Elite
1 Barbara Blatter (Swi) Specialized
2 Sabine Spitz (GER) Merida International        23.1
3 Petra Henzi (Swi) Fischer K2                   41.4
10 Sonja Traxel (Swi) Swisspower               8.37.1
1 Bettina Schmid (Swi) Fischer K2 
2 Emilie Siegenthaler (Swi) Swisspower         1.46.0
3 Nathalie Schneitter (Swi) Tropical Sunset    2.20.5