Competitive Cyclist
Chain Reaction
Full Speed Ahead
Look Cycle

2004 MTB World championships - CM

Les Gets, France, September 8-12, 2004

Main Page    Results    Previous Race     Next Race

Race 11 - September 11: 4-Cross Women

BMX skills pay off for Czech newcomer

By Rob Jones in Les Gets

An unknown (in mountain biking circles at least) BMX racer named Jana Horakova from the Czech Republic scooped up the women's four-cross title in Les gets today, in the absence of favourite Anne-Caroline Chausson of France.

In the women's final it was Horakova, Americans Jill Kinter and Tara Llanes, and Sari Jorgensen from Switzerland. Horakova, a two time BMX world champion and seven time European champion got into the sport after seeing how well another Czech BMXer had done - last year's 4-Cross world champion Michal Prokop. This race was only her fourth international 4-Cross, but she used her BMX starting skills to get the holeshot and stay away for the win.

"In practice I started to like the track, but I didn't know what to expect for myself. I decided just to focus on my start and then try to avoid doing any mistakes. For me, it was like doing a BMX race, but down a hill."

Kinter commented "I came into it knowing that Anne-Caroline was the one to beat, so once we heard that she was not racing, we could all start to think about it (winning). Then Jana came out of nowhere."

The women's podium
Photo ©: Birke Ulrich


Images by Birke Ulrich/www.alakarte.de


1 Jana Horakova (Czech Republic)        
2 Jill Kinter (USA)                     
3 Tara Llanes (USA)                     
4 Sari Jorgensen (Switzerland)          
Small Final
5 Katrina Miller (Australia)            
6 Mio Suemasa (Japan)                   
7 Anneke Beerten (Netherlands)          
8 Laetitia Le Corguille (France)        
1/4 Finals
9 Melissa Buhl (USA)                    
10 Fionn Griffiths (Great Britain)      
11 Zsofia Koczka (Hungary)              
12 Leana Gerrard (USA)                  
13 Michelle Dumaresq (Canada)           
14 Joanne Gough (Great Britain)         
15 Anne-Caroline Chausson (France)      
16 Vanessa Quinn (New Zealand)          
17 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spain)         
18 Julia Lasso (Equador)                
DSQ Lisa Sher (USA)                     
DNS Anita Molcik (Austria)              
DNS Celine Gros (France)                
DNS Claire Buchar (Canada)              
DNS Dalma Kiss (Hungary)                
DNS Katarina Siskova (Slovakia)         
DNS Helene Fruhwirth (Austria)          
DNS Nolvenn Le Caer (France)            
DNS Audrey Le Corguille (France)        
DNS Diana Marggraff (Equador)           

Back to top