Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Lisboa Downtown - 1

Lisbon, Portugal, May 23, 2009

2008 Results  Results 

Peat collects Lisbon win number eight

Steve Peat
Photo ©: Kathy Sessler
(Click for larger image)

Santa Cruz Syndicate's Steve Peat is on a roll. After two back-to-back wins at the most recent downhill World Cups, he also won the Lisbon Downtown race. Peat winning is Lisbon was a familiar sight – it was his eighth consecutive victory at the event.

GT's Mick Hannah rode well to earn himself second place, and Peat's teammate Greg Minnaar rounded out the podium with a third place finish.

The race was nearly rained out when precipitation fell the night before and right before the first practice run, making the cobbles dangerously unrideable for a time.

Peat credited his bike for helping him to victory while Minnaar said, "I rode like a twat again. I felt I had a good qualifier and I wanted to do the same in the final, but with a bit more pace to the run. I tried to pedal too much, and I didn't go as fast, but I'm happy for Steve."


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Kathy Sessler / Santa Cruz Syndicate


1 Steve Peat (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate                     1.38.281
2 Mick Hannah (Aus) GT Bicycles                             0.00.185
3 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Santa Cruz Syndicate                   0.01.733
4 Emanuel Pombo (Por) Liberty / Run&Bike Specialized        0.02.245
5 Roger Gonzalez (Spa) Valnord / Commencal                  0.02.361
6 Andrew Neethling (RSA) Trek World Racing                  0.03.763
7 Paulo Domingues (Por) Biciplus                            0.03.873
8 Marc Beaumont (GBr) GT Bicycles                           0.04.030
9 Thibaut Ruffin (Fra) Commencal - Riding Addiction         0.04.341
10 Justin Leov (NZl) Trek World Racing                      0.04.494
11 Luis Ferreira (Por) Ventana Garcia Sports                0.05.158
12 Helder Padilha (Por) Team Baeta / Nvauto                 0.05.885
13 Daniel Wolfe (Irl)                                       0.06.258
14 Marco Fidalgo (Por) Team Berg Sport Zone                 0.06.511
15 Josh Bryceland (GBr) Santa Cruz Syndicate                0.06.968
16 Joel Ferreira (Por) Infobtt.Com / No Tubes               0.07.082
17 Claudio Loureiro (Por) Team Bike Zone / Scott / A.D.A    0.07.108
18 Renato Ventura (Por) Team Berg Sport Zone                0.07.216
19 Daniel Pombo (Por) Liberty / Run&Bike Specialized        0.07.429
20 Filip Polc (Svk) Ms Evil Racing                          0.07.433
21 Leandro Salgueiro (Por) Avalanche / Vitória De Janes     0.08.069
22 Wallace Miranda (Bra)                                    0.08.208
23 Márcio Ferreira (Por) M.C.F / Municipio São Brás         0.08.458
24 André Beato (Por) M.C.F / Municipio São Brás             0.08.500
25 Afonso Ferreira (Por) Team Bike Zone / Scott / A.D.A     0.16.479