Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

TransAndes Challenge - NE

Chile and Argentina, February 3-8, 2009

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Stage  

Stage 6 - February 8: Final classification

Chilean Team won Transandeschallenge 6 Day stages

A Chilean team, Javier Puschel and Carlos Cardemil of Scott que Pacho?, captured overall victory at the first TransAndes Challenge. Puschel and Cardemil won all six stages en route to the overall victory. Second place overall went to Team Cikla-Specialized's Daniel Espinoza and Galo Tamayo from Ecuador. The Fratelli team from Argentina, including Federico Mallo and Francisco Pérez, finished third overall.

Racers forming 16 teams, from Argentina, Canada, South Africa, Mexico, Ecuador, and Germany took part in the TransAndeschallenge over six days and 480km near Pucon in Southern Chile.

"It was a succesful race; we are focusing on Transandeschallenge 2010 edition," said race director Juan Pablo Santiagos. Next year's event will take place in February in 2010.


Final general classification

Open men

1 Carlos Cardemil / Javier Puschel (Chi) Scott Que Pacho?                 17.27.47
2 Daniel Espinosa / Galo Tamayo (Ecu) Cikla-Specialized                      16.59
3 Federico Mallo / Francisco Perez (Arg) Fratelli                            55.54
4 Samuel De la Sotta / Javier Ortiz (Chi) Los Charcuteros                  1.14.22
Open mixed

1 Daniela Bunzli / Francisco Corvalan (Chi) Wild Bike Vitalife            18.25.35
2 Chichi Garcia / Claus Plaut (Chi) Cannondale-Go Zuko-Luchetti-Quaquer      15.24
3 Mario Roma / Adriana Nascimento (Por/Bra) Brasil Soul                    1.29.56
4 Ana Wullf / Juano Chavanne (Arg) Canaglia Giant                          1.43.00
5 Agustina Apaza / Cesar Letolli (Arg) Team Olmo                           3.48.20
100+ open

1 Cristián De la Maza / Luis Mayerholz (Chi) 108 Power                    21.14.27
60+ men

1 Octavio Cabrera / Jorge Marenco (Arg) Dentiscio                         22.13.26
60+ mixed

1 Zdenko Rajevic / Lina Augaitis (Chi/Can) Trutruka Salomon               23.06.46
80+ men

1 Homero López / Jose María Alonso (Mex) Cyclos                           23.36.12
2 Arthur Lello / Patrick Falconer (RSa) Sport Guide                               
80+ mixed

1 Andre Eksteen / Esti Du Plessis (RSa) Chakalaka                                 
Men 35+ individual

1 Markus Lachmayr (Ger) Bavaria