Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Kenda Cup West #5 - Santa Ynez Valley Classic - NE

Santa Ynez, Los Olivos, California, USA, April 25-26, 2009

Main Page    Results    Previous Race  

Race 5 - April 26: Elite & Category 1 Downhill

Eric Carter wins again at Santa Ynez

By Dave McElwaine in Los Olivos, California

Eric Carter (GT) won the Santa Ynez downhill, beating his rivals on two runs by a combined seven seconds. Anthon Medaglia (SRAM) was second while Jordan Lopez (WTB/Santa Cruz) claimed third.

"I had two runs that were really consistent," said Carter. "I checked up a bit on the second run. With the combined format I knew I had a pretty good gap. When the wind started to gust side winds I wanted to stay up. It was a fun course...a lot of high speed corners and fun jumps.

"But I think that on the top is where I ultimately won it," he added. "I stood up and tried harder than the other guys and had more gear to pull on."

Carter, a 39-year-old who will next compete at the U.S. Open in New Jersey, also won the Dual Slalom event on Saturday and finished fifth in the Super D competition.

Riders faced a headwind on the scenic course, which required somewhat more pedaling at the top than normal. Carter described the race as a sprint from start to finish, with winning in the 1:32 minute range.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


Pro Men
1 Eric Carter (GT Bikes)                     3.05.6
2 Anthony Medaglia (SRAM)                    0.06.9
3 Jordan Lopez (Wtb/Santa Cruz/Fox S)        0.08.6
4 Sean Osborne (Privateer)                   0.10.1
5 Kevin Aiello (GT Bikes)                    0.11.9
6 Jimmy Amaral (Point One Racing)            0.13.2
DNF Roger Evans                                    
Cat 1 Men 17-18
1 Caleb Marmelejo (Cycle Star Bikes)         3.14.4
2 Justin Wyche (D26)                         0.00.9
3 Alex Amaral (Point One Racing/Fox)         0.01.1
4 Allen Stoddard                             0.02.2
5 Nibal Elias (Evomo)                        0.03.4
6 Jeff Witten                                0.08.4
7 Traver Joehnck                             0.08.9
8 Evan Bissell                               0.09.4
9 Logan Kemp (Point One)                     0.20.2
DNF Kenny Evans                                    
Cat 1 Men 15-16
1 Christian Wright (Commencal)               3.16.0
2 Davin Richenberg (Marks Baywood Cycler)    0.02.8
DNF Cody Smith                                     
Cat 1 Men 19-24
1 Josef Duller (Airborne)                    3.12.7
2 Ian Ferguson (Alba Bike Works)             0.05.9
3 Ryan Christie                              0.09.0
4 Robert Ramirez                             0.09.6
5 Nathaniel Oliver (Cyclepaths)              0.10.2
6 Chris Lauber (Point One)                   0.15.1
7 Josh Eiseh (Ice Tools)                     0.18.2
8 John Koch (Habilis)                        0.20.3
9 Geoff Fischer (Odi Southridge)             0.26.1
DNF Tom Doran (No Fear Go Pro)                     
Cat 1 Men 35-39
1 Brad Lawrence (Downfast)                   3.28.6
2 Darren Brooks (Vriptech.Com)               0.04.3
3 Kenyon Kluge (K Squared)                   0.15.4
Cat 1 Men 40-44
1 Efren Cabreros (Arts Cyclery)              3.32.6
2 Tad Lent (Tnt Racing)                      0.01.6
3 Michael Hernandez                          0.01.8
Cat 1 Men 45-49
DNF Brad Jensen (Oneal/Azonic)                     
Cat 1 Men 50+
1 Joe Fabris (Fightin Boba)                  3.49.7
2 Roger Oien (Maxxis/Sunrd)                  0.01.4
Cat 1 Women 19-29
1 Margaret Gregory (Dons Bikes)              3.50.8
1 Vanessa Humic (Backbone Adventure C)       7.04.0