Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 MTB index page for all MTB content

IXS Downhill Cup Leogang - 2

Leogang, Austria, September 21, 2008

2007 Results    Results    Final standings     

Beer wins the iXS European Downhill Cup's final race

Nick Beer (iXS Sports Division) won
Photo ©: Thomas Dietze
(Click for larger image)
In the first year of its existence, the iXS European Downhill Cup went to Austria's Leogang for its final race. 200 riders from 20 countries were on parade, competing for important points for the overall classification. It soon showed just how strong the starting riders were going to be and that there were many candidates for the victory on this course that offers a 480 meters of difference in altitude on a distance of 2.3km.

Nick Beer (iXS Sports Division) offered a first taste of his ambitions for the overall victory in Saturday's seeding run. He was the fastest there, putting more than two seconds on his closest competitors Sam Blenkinsop (Yeti Factory) and Marcus Klausmann (Ghost International).

On Sunday, the finals started under constantly chilly, yet dry conditions. All the practice runs were taking their toll on the course which became increasingly demanding: Apart from riding skills, a lot of endurance was needed as well. Nick Beer did not seem to bother about that, getting along fine on the course called "Speedster" and posting a new best time of 4'06 minutes. In second position, Marcus Klausmann was just three hundredth of a second slower, with Marcel Beer (iXS Sports Division) finishing in third. After having won Schladming's world cup final, Blenkinsop could not live up to his role as a favorite - as a crash threw him back to 33rd position.

The junior category's race was once again won by Joseph Smith (Tomac), and his time would have placed him in fourth within the elite category. Boris Tetzlaff (Solid AClass) and Roman Roschi (Suspension Center) were trailing in second and third.

In the women's elite category, Petra Bernhard (Ancilotti) rode to a winning margin of more than ten seconds on Diana Marggraff (CDP-Zenith) and Anita Molcik (Yeti). The masters category was won by Wilfred van de Haterd ( Nox Cycles) in dominating fashion, putting Marcel Waldmann ( DT Swiss/Nicolai) and Timo Beutel ( Zonenschein) in second and third respectively.

Aggregating no less than 400 points, Nick Beer was crowned overall winner of the cup. Just four days after his 21st birthday, the Matten resident riding for Team iXS Sports Division gave himself a fantastic present, Although he missed one of the races due to his participation at Canada's World Cup races, he left the other four venues as winner. Nick's older brother Marcel finished in second in the overall, completing the double for the title sponsor's team. Finishing in third, Marcus Klausmann proved one more time that he is still Germany's number one on an international level.

The women's overall classification was won by Miriam Ruchti (Sport Promotion) ahead of Caroline Sax (Vario) and Harriet Rücknagel (Zonenschein). In the junior category, the overall was won by Great Britain's promising youngster Joseph Smith, while Marcel Waldmann was the overall winner in the master's category.

On the next two weekends, both the iXS German Downhill Cup and the iXS Swiss Downhill Cup will come to a befitting end in Bad Wildbad and in Bellwald, respectively. On top of all that, the End of Season Party is scheduled for October 18 at Bern's Gurten, including the award ceremonies for the Swiss Cup, a choice of DJs and a live concert.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Thomas Dietze


Elite men

1 Nick Beer (Swi) iXS Sports Division       4.06
2 Marcus Klausmann (Ger) Ghost International    
3 Marcel Beer (Swi) iXS Sports Division         

Elite women

1 Petra Bernhard (Aut) Ancilotti                
2 Diana Marggraff (Ecu) CDP-Zenith              
3 Anita Molcik (Aut) Yeti  
Junior men

1 Joseph Smith (GBr) Tomac                      
2 Boris Tetzlaff (Aut) Solid AClass             
3 Roman Roschi (Swi) Suspension Center          

1 Wilfred van de Haterd (Ned) Nox Cycles        
2 Marcel Waldmann (Swi) DT Swiss/Nicolai        
3 Timo Beutel (Ger) Zonenschein                 
Final standings

Elite men

1 Nick Beer (Swi) iXS Sports Division           
2 Marcel Beer (Swi) iXS Sports Division         
3 Marcus Klausmann (Ger) Ghost International    
Elite women

1 Miriam Ruchti (Swi) Sport Promotion           
2 Caroline Sax (Fra) Vario                      
3 Harriet Rücknagel (Ger) Zonenschein           

1 Joseph Smith (GBr) Tomac                      

1 Marcel Waldmann (Swi) DT Swiss/Nicolai