Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Asishove MTB Challenge - NE

Giba Gorge, Pinetown, South African, October 18, 2008

2007 Results   Results

Stander unbeatable in men's race while Oosthuizen wins women's duel

Burry Stander's title-winning form continued
Photo ©: mypicture.co.za
(Click for larger image)

KwaZulu-Natalâ's newly-crowned Under-23 World Cup champion, Burry Stander, conquered a strong field, a tough route and muddy conditions to win the 2008 Asishove Mountain Bike Challenge in Pinetown on Saturday.

The 21 year-old Mr Price GT rider won the inaugural edition of the race last year and was closely marked by his main rivals throughout most of this year's event, which took place at Giba Gorge Mountain Bike Park as part of the Pick n Pay Amashovashova Weekend Cycling Festival.

Max Knox and Brandon Stewart, both of Team Garmin DCM, broke clear of the field shortly after the start with Stander in close attendance. With 35km of the race on singletrack, passing was difficult, but the trio took turns to push the early pace and open a gap on the rest of the field.

Samantha Oosthuizen rode a well-judged race to claim the women's title
Photo ©: mypicture.co.za
(Click for larger image)

On a steep climb around halfway, Stewart, the current elite South African cross-country champion, dropped off the pace, leaving Knox and Stander to battle for the win. Stander managed to create a small gap on a steep, rocky downhill, 7km from the finish and extended his lead on Knox in the final kilometres to clock a fast one hour, 55 minutes and 40 seconds.

Second-placed Knox was the only other rider to break the two-hour mark in 1:57:02, with Stewart rounding out the podium places in 2:00:14.

In the women's race, pre-race favourite Samantha Oosthuizen (Garmin DCM) had to work hard to win a race-long duel with local rider, Shawna Thunder (The Leigh Group). Oosthuizen, who represented South Africa at mountain bike marathon world championships in Italy this summer, eventually claimed the win in 2:35:06, just on three minutes quicker than runner-up Thunder. Annik Crymen was third overall in 3:01:35.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by mypicture.co.za


Overall men

1 Burry Stander (Mr Price GT)          1.55.40
2 Max Knox (DCM Chrome)                   1.22
3 Brandon Stewart (DCM Chrome)            4.34
Overall women

1 Samantha Oosthuizen (Garmin DCM)     2.35.06
2 Shawna Thunder (The Leigh Group)        3.02
3 Annik Crymen                           26.29
Senior men

1 Burry Stander (Mr Price GT)          1.55.40
2 Max Knox (DCM Chrome)                   1.22
3 Brandon Stewart (DCM Chrome)            4.34
Senior women

1 Samantha Oosthuizen (Garmin DCM)     2.35.06
2 Carla Barton                           58.58
3 Tamryn Anne Taylor                   1.02.37
Sub-Veteran men

1 Mannie Heymans (MTN Energade)        2.06.13
2 Piers Morgan                           19.56
3 Andre Smith                            32.03
Sub-Veteran women

1 Shawna Thunder                       2.38.08
2 Annik Crymen                           23.27
3 Lee Cummings                           40.18
Veteran men

1 Andrew McLean (Cycle Lab Toyota)     2.17.47
2 Terence Robertson                      18.29
3 Stephen Forster                        29.35
Veteran women

1 Catherine Gibbings                   3.07.04
2 Monica Botha                           30.51
Master men

1 Charles Stander                      2.47.46
2 Frans de Beer                          27.57
3 Anthony Meyer                          32.32
Junior men

1 James McVulling                      2.22.03
Sub-junior men

1 Bryce Rawlins                        3.23.03
2 Stephen Mylroie                         5.02
Youth men

1 Aston Davies                         2.38.10
2 Travis Hesom                            9.58
3 Wesley de Jager                        19.38