Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

MTB World Cup XC #5 & DH #3 - CDM

Fort William, Scotland, June 6-8, 2008

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - June 6: Elite women 4X,

Horakova takes the win

By Luke Webber in Fort William

Jana Horakova (Suzuki-RB)
Photo ©: Dave McElwaine
(Click for larger image)

Anneke Beerten was not her usual dominant force and faced disappointment managing only third. Although strong in the early rounds and riding well in the finals mistakes on the loose surface cost the lead and then second. Eventual winner was Jana Horakova (Suzuki) who kept her nose clean early on and rode consistently in the final to take the overall win. Beerten did have the consolation of retaining the series leaders jersey and remains favourite for the World Championships despite this slip.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Dave McElwaine/www.trailwatch.net


Elite women
1 Jana Horakova (Cze) Suzuki-RB                              
2 Rachel Seydoux (Swi)                                       
3 Anneke Beerten (Ned) MS-Intense Factory-Racing             
4 Melissa Buhl (USA)                                         
5 Romana Labounkova (Cze)                                    
6 Mio Suemasa (Jpn) MS-Intense Factory-Racing                
7 Anita Molcik (Aut) 4 Elements Yeti/Hotec/Rsp               
8 Sarsha Huntington (Aus)                                    
9 Fionn Griffiths (GBr) Norco World Team                     
10 Joanna Petterson (RSA)                                    
11 Steffi Marth (Ger)                                        
12 Eva Castro Fernandez (Spa)                                
13 Angelika Hohenwarter (Aut)                                
14 Diana Marggraff (Ecu)                                     
15 Elisa Canepa (Ita) Playbiker - Iron Horse                 
16 Charlie Phillips (GBr)