Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

German National Mountain Bike Championships - CN

St. Märgen, Germany, July 19-20, 2008

Main Page    Results    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 6 - July 20: Elite Women Cross Country

Spitz wins number seven

In St. Märgen, Sabine Spitz took her seventh national cross country title. Despite coming off a three week training camp at high altitude, she was able to beat Ivonne Kraft, who suffered problems with her back. After first lap of six, Spitz took the lead and held it until the end, finishing in a time of 1'31"58. Kraft was just 56 seconds back.

"I'm happy to win the title near to my home," said Spitz. "It's a special feeling. I missed the aggressive capability [I often have], but that's normal after this kind of training camp."

Adelheid Morath, who is from St. Märgen, was with Spitz in the training camp. She finished in third place, at 1'49.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Armin M. Küstenbrück


1 Sabine Spitz (Central Ghost Pro Team)                     1.31.58
2 Ivonne Kraft (Joybike)                                       0.56
3 Adelheid Morath (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)                      1.49
4 Hanna Klein (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)                          2.57
5 Anja Gradl (central GHOST Pro Team)                          4.20
6 Silke Schmidt (Fuji Bikes Europe)                            5.06
7 Tatjana Dold (Fuji-Bikes Europe)                             9.10
8 Claudia Seidel (Team FOCUS Factorty)                         9.51
9 Nina Kunz (Merida Deutschland)                              10.16
10 Agnes Naumann (Rothaus-Cube MTB Team)                      12.06
11 Nicole Lechl (Team XLC Haibike)                            13.34
12 Silja Vetter (Neumayer Tekfor)                             14.20
13 Melanie Spath (Mountainbiking Association Dub)             14.46
14 Sandra Börner (SG Rheinfelden/Sabine Spitz Junior Team)    17.01

Behind one lap

15 Katharina Haase (Team Bergamont)                                
16 Cora Paulukat (biketeam2008.de)