Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Australian National Four Cross Series, Round #1 - NE

Sydney Olympic Park, October 20, 2007

2006 Results   Results

Canberra racers dominate first National Mountain Bike Series

By Sharon Payne

National Four Cross Champion, Caroline Buchanan
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)

Canberra duo Caroline Buchanan and Leigh Darrell took out the first round of the National Four Cross Series at Sydney Olympic Park. Current national four cross champion Buchanan proved her recent crash at the World Championship had not gotten in the way of her gutsy riding style. Buchanan led early and stayed out of a crash between Sarsha Huntington and Shannon Jobson. Sydney rider Grace Ireland also stayed out of trouble to finish second. Then Huntington rode in to claim third and Jobson fourth.

The men's race was won by Leigh Darrell in a tough line up alongside inaugural winner Alex Lloyd, Thomas Hubert and Timothy Dunn.

"Thomas [Hubert] got a good start too. I wasn't quite in front to block him into the first corner to block him right out," explained Darrell.

A loss of control by Thomas Hubert in the third corner gave Darrell the lead he needed. "I just gave it everything I got in the last bit," Darrell said.

Leigh Darrell dominates
Photo ©: Evan Jeffery
(Click for larger image)
With top riders like Luke Strom and defending national series winner, Terry Scarr eliminated today in the quarter finals Darrell will be certain to get challenged in tomorrow's second round of the National Series. "I'm going to try and come back and back it up," said Darrell.

In the Under 19 race, Canberra's Aiden Nemet was a clear winner while only two hundredths of a second separated second and third. Adam Thalor narrowly got second place with Queensland's Rhys Willemse being relegated to third. Fourth was Ryan Hunt.

The second round of the National Four Cross Series continues tomorrow afternoon also at Sydney Olympic Park.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Evan Jeffery/www.evanjeffery.com.au


Elite Men

1 Leigh Darrell        
2 Timothy Dunn           
3 Alex Lloyd          
4 Thomas Hubert         
Open Women 

1 Caroline Buchanan       
2 Grace Ireland        
3 Sarsha Huntington     
4 Julia Bohr           
Under 19 Men 

1 Aiden Nemet          
2 Adam Thalor         
3 Rhys Willemse       
4 Ryan Hunt           
Under 19 Women 

1 T. Courtney       
2 D. Beecroft       
3 E. Tatum          
Under 17 Men

1 B. Clark          
2 B. Nielsen        
3 R. Henderson      
4 J. Abbott         
Under 15 Men 

1 B. Muncaster      
2 J. Thalor         
3 K. Hughes         
4 M. Hughes         
Vet Men 

1 J. Harris         
2 M. Osborne        
3 M. Conghurts      
4 L. O'Keefe        
Sport Men 

1 S. Studdert       
2 T. Markus         
3 R. Franzolini    
4 B. Moore