Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Canadian National Championships - CN

Mt. Washington, British Columbia, Canada, July 21-22, 2007

Main Page    Results     Next Race

Race 1 - July 21: Downhill

Kitzanuk and Datto win Canadian titles

Luke Kitzanuk of Hudson, Quebec., and Michayla Datto of British Columbia, won the Canadian downhill titles at the Canadian Mountain Bike Nationals at Mt. Washington.

Rain and cold made a difficult course event harder for the competitors. "Even dry, the course is challenging and with the rain even more so," said Kitzanuk, savouring his first Canadian title. "My goal was to stay on my bike until I reached the bottom. I made it. I won't need to do laundry

"I'm very pleased, I've been chasing this title for four years," he added.

Hans Lambert won the junior title and was third in the elite event. "I couldn't have asked for better," said 18 year-old Lambert. "I didn't know what to expect, but I worked hard all week and gave it my all."

In the women's competition, Datto took the crown. "I've been waiting for this moment a long time," she said. "It's my first Canadian title and I'm excited about. You have keep positive through the rain and cold because there is nothing you can do about it. The competition was the only time today I didn't fall on the course."

Anne Laplante of Gatineau won the junior event. "I'm surprised because it was quite a battle between Miranda Miller and I," said the 16 year-old Laplante.


Elite/junior men
1 Luke Kitzanuk (BC) Giant Mountain Bike Team                   3.55
2 Steve Chan (BC) Giant                                         0.07
3 Hans Lambert (QC) Sports Aux Puces-Oakley-Hype Energy         0.10
4 Geoff Pendrel (BC) PinkBike                                   0.11
5 Louis-Phillippe Leonard (QC) Equipe Quebec                    0.11
6 Peter McLean (ON) Primary/Daredevil/Devinci/Sram              0.11
7 Ewan Farfard (BC) Maple Ridge Cycle                           0.12
8 Dean Tennant (BC) Appalache/Dangerboy                         0.13
9 Eric Goss (BC) Giant Canada                                   0.14
10 Nick Dent (BC) Giant Canada/NRG                              0.16
11 Steve Smith (BC) Cove                                        0.16
12 Tyler Morland (BC) Cove Bikes                                0.17
13 Charles-Alexandre Dubé (QC) Cove bike-sombrio                0.17
14 Dominick Ménard (QC) Team Giant Canada                       0.17
15 Brett Hornfelt (BC) Empire Bike Shop-Utopia-Crankbrothers    0.19
16 Guillaume Soucy-Alarie (QC) BDH racing                       0.20
17 Couper Stuart (BC) Primary Divinci                           0.21
18 Dan Skogland (BC) Cove Bike                                  0.21
19 Tim Coleman (BC) John Henry Bikes                            0.21
20 Neil McKinnon (BC)                                           0.23
21 Ryan Vanderham (BC)                                          0.23
22 Derek Chambers (BC) PinkBike/Devinci                         0.25
23 Andrew Mitchell (BC)                                         0.27
24 Jean Philippe Da Silva (QC) Ironhorse / Intersport           0.28
25 Brent Anderson (BC) Mountain City Cycle                      0.28
26 Matt Zdriluk (ON) commencal/dropmachine.com                  0.29
27 Simon Garstin (BC) Mountain City Cycles                      0.30
28 Justin Brown (ON) Cycle Solutions                            0.30
29 Adam Mcconaghy (BC) Commencal/Drop Machine                   0.30
30 Emmanuel Daoust (QC)                                         0.31
31 James Jeannet (QC) Team DHRacer                              0.31
32 Drew Pautler (ON) Primary Daredevil                          0.31
33 Tyler Paksi (AB) ADHRA                                       0.35
34 Nicholas Foster (QC) Orange/Mojo                             0.35
35 Yann Gauvin (QC) Equipe du Québec - Marin bikes              0.37
36 Arnaud Dulude (QC) martin swiss cycles                       0.38
37 Mitch Thornton (AB) Giant / Cyclepath Calgary                0.39
38 Scott Halvorson (BC) Team Squamish/Kona/MMR                  0.40
39 Stephen Buresy (BC) Gericks Cycle                            0.41
40 Joey Jenkins (ON) Primary Daredevil                          0.41
41 Tyler Gorz (BC) Team BC                                      0.41
42 Justin Terwiel (BC) full boar                                0.42
43 Nick Quinn (AB) CC DH Team                                   0.44
44 Maxime Fortin Faubert (QC) FH RACING                         0.46
45 Robert McPhalen (AB) Calgary Cycle                           0.46
46 Chris Fisher (BC)                                            0.46
47 Vincent Tremblay (QC) Equipe du Québec / Devinci             0.48
48 Leighton Allsop (BC) Transition Bikes                        0.48
49 Geoff Briggs (AB) Calgary Cycle DH Team                      0.50
50 Darryl Bartlett (BC) Cove Scram Bikes                        0.54
51 Jeremy Allouche (BC) Marin/ MMR                              0.59
52 Kevin Cooper (AB) Calgary Cycle                              0.59
53 Braeden Chapman (BC)                                         1.01
54 Harrison Gould (BC) Kona MMR Sombrio                         1.22
55 Patrick Bisson (QC) Impact Designs.ca                        1.33
56 Quinn Lanzon (QC) Primary Daredevil                          1.34
57 Fraser Britton (QC) Orange Mojo                              1.50
58 Cameron Loftus (ON) FH RACING                                1.54
DNF James Biluk (BC) Cove Bikes                                     
DNF Kyle Lockyer (ON) Cycle Solutions                               
DNF Jeff Beatty (BC) Orange Mojo                                    
DNF Derek Cowell (ON) PoisonFrog Promotion                          
DNS Kevin Bartkowski (BC) Cove Scram Bikes                          
DNS Alexander MacMillan (AB) MCL-Racing- TheBikeShop.com-Calgary    
DNS Robbie Davidson (ON)                                            
DNS Justin Willoughby (AB) Calgary Cycle                            
DNS Curtis Teichrib (BC) Full Boar Bike Store                       
Elite/junior women
1 Micayla Gatto (BC) Rocky Mountain Haywood                     4.49
2 Claire Buchar (BC) Cove                                       0.02
3 Katrina Strand (BC)                                           0.38
4 Sheila Morris (ON) GRAVITESSE                                 0.45
5 Kelly Kozevnikov (BC) Steed Cycles                            0.51
6 Amber Zirnhelt (BC) Brodie Bikes/Loeka                        0.54
7 Tanya Grunsky (BC) Cyclepath Kelowna-Utopia Optics            1.01
8 Andreanne Miller (BC) Devinci                                 1.03
9 Anne Laplante (QC) Equipe du Québec                           1.13
10 Miranda Miller (BC) Team BC                                  2.28
DNS Kristen Smart (BC) Cove Bikes