Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

12 Hours of Razorback- NE

Reddick, Florida, USA, February 17, 2007


NMBC ultra endurance series kicks off

The 12 hours of Razorback was one of two races this weekend to kick off the new six-race USA Cycling Mountain Bike National Ultra-Endurance Calendar. The other race was the Mas o Menos in Terlingua, Texas.

Fleeing the worst winter storm of the year, Pennsylvania residents Harlan Price (Independent Fabrication) and Rob Lichtenwaller (Cannondale/ Bare-Naked) raided the 12 hour race and took home first and second places with Price's Florida teammate Harvey Minton (Independent Fabrication) taking third. It took almost ten hours of riding before Price could shake Lichtenwaller during the last two laps night-time laps.

Kona Bicycles took over sponsorship this year, helping continue the 12hrs of Razorback's tradition of early season racing. 82 solo riders lined up along with teams and riders in the six hour category. From the start, Price and Andy Mills (Trek Bicycles) set a quick solo pace with sub-46 minute laps. In the back, Lichtenwaller bided his time while Price and Mills burned. Contender and experienced 24 hour racer Ernesto Marenchin (Asylum Cycles) flatted in the first 10 minutes and never seemed to recover momentum.

Price and Lichtenwaller stayed within one minute of each other for 10 laps, before the Independent Fabrications rider put 11 minutes between them in the last three laps. Harvey Minton, top local of the day, went traded places all day with local rider Chris Janiszewski. Their race was decided finally by Minton electing to go out for a final lap just minutes before the cutoff. Janiszewski started to follow, but pulled out therby conceding the final podium spot.

Price's driving partner, Keith Ridenhour of South Mountain Cycles, won the single-speed division. On the women's side, Darlene Angeler took the win over Carey Lowery and Sandra Tomlinson.

Information in this report was contributed by Harlan Price whose blog can be read www.boxedbee.blogspot.com.


Solo Men

1 Harlan Price (Independent Fabrication)        
2 Rob Lichtenwaller (Cannondale/ Bare-Naked)    
3 Harvey Minton (Independent Fabrication)       
4 Chris Janiszewski                             
Solo Women

1 Darlene Angeler                               
2 Carey Lowery                                  
3 Sandra Tomlinson 

Singlespeed Men

1 Keith Ridenhour (South Mountain Cycles)