Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

New Zealand National MTB series #3 - NE

New Zealand, January 22-23, 2006

Main Page    Results    Previous Race  

Race 2 - January 23: Cross Country

Avery and Joseph conquer the Vulcaniser

By Karyn McQueen

In complete contrast to the Coronet Peak course, today's (Sunday January 22 2006) course at Waipara was as technical and involving as it was picturesque with a record number of riders enjoying the course in Round 3 of the 2006 New Zealand Community Trust National Series. As expected, New Zealand Commonwealth Games selection contenders Clinton Avery and Rosara Joseph both put in strong performances to further increase their prospects with solid wins in the Elite Men's and Women's Categories.

The much anticipated return of Rosara Joseph (Christchurch) to the National Series saw Joseph sharing the lead with the current series leader Annika Smail (Rotorua) until midway through the third lap where Joseph broke away to finish with an 18 second lead. Rotorua's Sonia Foote comfortably held onto third position throughout the entire race to finish 3 minutes behind Joseph.

Clinton Avery (Rotorua) once again showed he was a serious Commonwealth Games contender with a convincing win over Marcus Roy (Te Anau) after Kashi Leuchs flatted early in the race. Leuchs displayed a fiercely competitive attitude in fighting back to eleventh position from twenty eighth. Brendan Sharratt (Wanganui) backed up his first round podium finish with another third placing with a 1.56.06 hour race.

It was a family affair with Avery's Mum Mary Ann and younger sister Monique both winning their classes also.

All riders were extremely enthusiastic with "The Vulcaniser" course with the tight and twisting single track through native forest and rolling farmland and special thanks must go to the landowner Ross Little and family for opening up their working farm to the National Series.

Next weekend's National Championships in Nelson will see the nations best Cross Country riders competing for Oceania and World selection. In addition to the usual Downhill and Cross Country, Hill Climb and Four Cross will also be contested.


Elite Men
1 Clinton Avery (Rotorua)         1.53.03
2 Marcus North (Te Anau)             1.29
3 Brendan Sharratt (Wanganui)        3.03
Elite Women
1 Rosara Joseph (Christchurch)    1.51.54
2 Annika Smail (Rotorua)             0.18
3 Sonia Foote (Rotorua)              5.19
Expert Junior 17 Men
1 Simon Honour (Rotorua)                 
2 Ash Hough (Tauranga)                   
3 Scott Green (Rotorua)                  
Expert Junior 17 Women
1 Jesse Loe (Taupo)                      
2 Adrienne Hooper (Waitakere City)       
Expert Junior 19 Men
1 Carl Jones (Whakatane)                 
2 Thomas Reynolds (Waiwauku)             
3 Nik Ferigo (Christchurch)              
Expert Junior 19 Women
1 Monique Avery (Rotorua)                
2 Hayley Robertson (Robertson)           
3 Katherine I'Neill (Auckland)           
Expert 23 Men
1 Oliver Whalley (Richmond)              
2 Jeremy Inglis (Hamner)                 
3 Sam McCloy (Blenheim)                  
Expert 23 Women
1 Fiona Lindsay (Central Otago)          
2 Kim Williamson (Alexandra)             
3 Kathryn Campbell (Upper Hutt)          
Expert Senior Men
1 Gavin McCarthy (Wellington)            
2 Carwyn May (Taupo)                     
3 Dayle McLauchlan (Christchurch)        
Expert Senior Women
1 Fiona Macdermid (Palmerston North)     
2 Anja McDonald (Dunedin)                
3 Chelsea Wills (Waitakere City)         
Expert Master 30 Men
1 Andrew East (Auckland)                 
2 Tony Hogg (Dunedin)                    
3 Darryl Church (Rotorua)                
Expert Master 40 Men
1 Ian Paintin (Wellington)               
2 Craig Phillips (Christchurch)          
3 Mark Lawson (Helensville)              
Expert Master 50 Men
1 Marco Renall (Lower Hutt)              
2 Andrew Scott (Nelson)                  
3 Geoff Herbert (New Plymouth)           
Sport Novice Boy
1 Daniel Morgan (Levin)                  
2 James Gilmore (Christchurch)           
3 Hayden McCormick (Dunedin)             
Sport Novice Girl
1 Katherine Reynolds (Waimauku)          
Sport Junior Men
1 Nick Clark (Christchurch)              
2 John Holvey (Alexandra)                
Sport Senior Men
1 Craig Tolson (Christchurch)            
2 Daniel Merryless (Christchurch)        
3 Ross McCulloch (Christchurch)          
Sport Senior Women
1 Sara Taylor (Christchurch)             
Sport Master Men
1 Carl Patton (Wellington)               
2 Richard Bowers (Christchurch)          
3 Mark Chapple (Christchurch)            
Sport Master Women
1 Maryann Avery (Rotorua)                
2 Melanie Blomfield (Christchurch)       
3 Jenny Loe (Taupo)