Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Dauphiné Libéré
Photo ©: Sirotti

 MTB index page for all MTB content

NORBA series #5 - NE

Snowmass, Colorado, USA, July 21-24, 2005

Main Page    Results   Overall standings    Previous Race   Next Race

Race 5 - July 24: Short track cross-country

Kabush kicks to the win

With cautious tactics, Geoff Kabush (Maxxis) claimed his second win of the weekend in Sunday's short track XC competition at the Snowmass, Colo. NORBA National.

"I was frustrated after the traffic jam in the last lap in Idaho," Kabush said from his home in Albuquerque on Monday, referring to the Sandpointe, Idaho NORBA Short Track where he lost the sprint for the win against Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski after getting tied up behind lapped riders.

In the Snowmass NORBA, Kabush decided to sit behind a lead group of Peter Wedge (Kona-Les Gets), Todd Wells (Hyundai-GT), Liam Killeen (Specialized), Geoff Kabush (Team Maxxis), Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (Subaru-Gary Fisher) and Chris Sheppard (Haro) and wait fro the front of the race to develop. "Wedge put in a big attack right off the start," Kabush said. "He came back then Wells went."

Then Kabush countered and only Killeen could stay with the Canadian on a course still drying after a monster thunderstorm that started five minutes after Kabush won the men's cross country race on Saturday.

With three laps to go, Kabush says his advantage grew to 10 seconds or so. "I just tried to find nice, clean lines to drive." He won in a final-lap kick.

In the women's Short Track, Flagstaff, Arizona rider Dara Marks-Marino (Ford/Specialized) was able to hold off an on-form Shonny Vanlandingham (Luna Chix) for her first ever NORBA win.


1 Dara Marks-Marino (USA) Ford/Specialized                     
2 Shonny Vanlandingham (USA) Luna Womens Mtb Team              
3 Susan Haywood (USA) Trek-Volkswagen                          
4 Katerina Hanusova (Cze) Luna Womens Mtb Team                 
5 Heather Irmiger (USA) Tokyo Joes/Go Lite                     
6 Kerry Barnholt (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher                      
7 Alison Dunlap (USA) Luna Womens Mtb Team                     
8 Georgia Gould (USA) Tamarack                                 
9 Willow Koerber (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher                      
10 Sara Bresnick-Zocchi (USA) Ford/Specialized                 
11 Nina Baum (USA) Cannondale                                  
12 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Biogen-Idec                             
13 Jenna Zander (USA) Cannondale                               
14 Dellys Starr (Aus) Fuentes Design                           
15 Kelli Emmett (USA) Ford/Specialized                         
16 Kyia Malenkovich (USA) Headmethod.Com                       
17 Zephanie Blasi (USA) Kenda/Dt Swiss/Gu                      
18 Judy Freeman (USA) Cannondale Mtn Bike Team                 
19 Alicia Hamilton (USA) Dark Horse/Giant                      
20 Carla Salgado (Mex)                                         
21 Becca Blay (USA) Team Dean                                  
22 Rebecca Gross (USA) Sun And Ski Sports                      
23 Lea Davison (USA) Balance Bar/Devo                          
24 Cindi Hansen (USA) Mtbchick.Com/Cannondale                  
25 Stacey Scanlan (USA) Tamarack                               
26 Kristina Andrus (USA) Canyon Cycles                         
27 Julie Emmerman (USA) Maverick                               
28 Molly Hummel (USA) Dean                                     
29 Jennifer Tilley (USA) Sunflower                             
30 Kimberly Flynn (USA) Defeet                                 
31 Theresa Richardson (USA) Cannondale Mtn Bike Team           
DNF Niki Gudex (Aus) Srm/Intense Cycles                        
DNF Jennifer Smith (NZl) Go Lite/Tokyo Joes                    
1 Geoff Kabush (Can) Team Maxxis                               
2 Liam Killeen (GBr) Specialized                               
3 Seamus Mcgrath (Can) Haro Bicycles                           
4 Peter Wedge (Can) Kona/Les Gets                              
5 Todd Wells (USA) Gt/Hyundi                                   
6 Ryan Trebon (USA) Kona/Les Gets                              
7 Adam Craig (USA) Giant                                       
8 Chris Sheppard (Can) Haro Bicycles                           
9 Mathieu Toulouse (Can) Team Maxxis                           
10 Travis Brown (USA) Trek/Frs Plus                            
11 Andy Johnston (USA) Kenda/Cycle Youth                       
12 Carl Decker (USA) Giant                                     
13 Sam Schultz (USA) U23 National Team                         
14 Cody Peterson (USA) 3D Racing                               
15 Brent Miller (Aus) Wtb/Fox Shox/Santa Cruz                  
16 John Devine (USA) U23 National Team                         
17 Alan Obye (USA) U23 National Team                           
18 Oscar Alberto Campos (Mex) Mexicao National                 
19 Barry Wicks (USA) Kona/Les Gets                             
20 Roland Green (Can) Kona/Les Gets                            
21 Phillip Spencer (GBr) Trek Uk                               
22 Tristan Schouten (USA) Trek Midwest                         
23 Chris Eatough (USA) Trek/Vw                                 
24 Sid Taberlay (GBr) Specialized                              
25 Mike West (USA) Maverick                                    
26 Nick Ranno (USA) Trek Rocky Mtn Regional Team               
27 Matt Shriver (USA) 3D Racing/Easton                         
28 Emanuel Valencia (Mex) Mexico National                      
29 Josh Bezecny (USA) 3D Racing                                
30 Andrew Lee (USA) Crocs Grans Sports                         
31 Nick Martin (USA) Trek-Vw                                   
32 Jeremy Horgan-Kobelski (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher             
33 Kris Sneddon (Can) Kona/Lesgets                             
34 Douglas Ryden (USA) Pro Cycling                             
35 Lance Runyan (USA) Titus/Stein Ericksen Sports/Titus        
36 Thomas Spannring (USA) 1800 Contacts/Jans                   
37 Andy Schultz (USA) Cannondale                               
38 Charles Pendry (USA) Inland -Btd                            
39 Spencer Paxson (USA) Devo Balance Bar                       
40 Joey Thompson (USA) Balance Bar/                            
41 Bryan Fawley (USA) Wheelsinmotion/Kenda                     
42 Jason Sager (USA) Team Hotel San Jose                       
44 Patrick Bush (USA) Clif Bar                                 
45 Adam Snyder (USA) Balance Bar/Devo                          
46 Robert Cotton (USA) Structural System                       
46 Arlo Buijten (USA) Titus/Schwalbe                           
47 Sam Jurekovic (USA) U23 National Team                       
48 Dave Klaassenvanoorschot (USA) Khs/Spy/D3                   
DNF Trent Lowe (Aus) Subaru-Gary Fisher                        
DNF Nat Ross (USA) Subaru-Gary Fisher                          
DNF Ali Goulet (USA) Rhodes/Mccann/Ericksen                    
DNF Jeremiah Bishop (USA) Trek/Vw                              
DNF Amon Pease (USA) Intense                                   
DNF Ricky Federau (Can) Gearsracing.Com