Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Red Bull Down Town - E1

Lisbon, Portugal, May 10, 2003


Double for Orange

By Martin Whitely, Global Racing

Marielle Saner, riding an Orange 222, beat Anne-Caroline Chausson for 1st place just 20 minutes before Steve Peat won the men's race on his Orange under perfect skies here in Lisbon, Portugal. A huge crowd lined the streets 3 to 4 deep as a world class field took to the streets of the Lisbon's narrow and cobbled old town.

Global Racing's only rider here, Matti Lehikoinen, finished 17th in his first day on a new bike. "I had no time to test the new Orange 222 because of bad weather, and today was really my first day on the bike. I'm pretty happy though because last year at this event I was 9 seconds off Peaty's winning time, and today I am only 6 seconds off him, and the course was 10 seconds longer this year," said Matti in the Red Bull tent straight after the race.

Matti was also suffering a sore back after he and fellow 23 Degrees rider American Kyle Strait (who finished 16th today) were involved in a car accident yesterday, as innocent back seat passengers in a rental car that got hit from behind by a van doing 60km/h. "That was pretty crazy. I guess Kyle and I were very lucky. This guy just slammed us and the next thing we know there's glass everywhere."


Images by Red Bull/Alex Schelbert

Photos from the 2002 event


1 Steve Peat (GBr) Orange UK                    1.32.788
2 Brian Lopes (USA) GT Hyundai                  1.33.979
3 Tomas Misser (Spa) Mondraker                  1.34.756
4 Cedric Gracia (Fra) Siemens Mobile Cannondale 1.36.272
5 Bas de Bever (Ned) Be One                     1.36.456
6 David Vasquez (Spa) MSC Bikes                 1.36.465
7 Greg Minnaar (RSA) Haro Lee Dungarees         1.36.582
8 Roger Gonzalez (Spa)                          1.36.614
9 Himar Sanchez (Spa) MSC Bikes                 1.36.675
10 Guido Tschugg RB (Ger)                       1.37.050
11 José Sousa (Por) Sousa Matesica Mondraker    1.37.354
12 Carlos Loureiro (Por) Team Baeta Be One      1.37.839
13 Tim Ponting (GBr) Tomac                      1.38.216
14 Fabien Barel (Fra) Kona Clarks               1.38.385
15 Filip Polc (Svk)                             1.38.397
16 Kyle Strait (USA) Red Bull Oakley Haro       1.38.809
17 Matti Lehikoinen (Fin) Global Racing         1.38.930
18 Marco Fidalgo (Por) BTTerra                  1.39.013
19 George Atherton (GBr)                        1.39.451
20 Nuno Duarte (Por) Team Baeta Be One          1.39.761
21 Márcio Ferreira (Por) Extreme.pt             1.39.867
22 Jorge Aguin (Spa)                            1.39.934
23 Pascual Canals (Spa)                         1.40.117
24 Crawford Carrick-Anderson (GBr)              1.40.224
25 Pau Misser (Spa) Mondraker                   1.40.922
26 Jordi Bagó (Spa) MSC Bikes                   1.41.203
27 Paulo Domingues (Por) Biciplus               1.42.031
28 Mike King (USA) Haro Lee Dungarees           1.42.491
29 Mark Beaumont (GBr)                          1.42.665
30 Felicio Brás (Por) Clube Ana Faro            1.42.962
31 Michael Graça (Por)                          1.44.536
32 Luís Sousa (Por) JD Fontainhas               1.44.772
33 Ruben Ramos (Por) JD Fontainhas              1.44.831
34 Afonso Ferreira (Por) Tomac Gaia Bike        1.45.360
35 André Beato (Por) BTTerra                    1.45.551
36 Sérgio Barros (Por) BTTerra                  1.46.006
37 Octávio Gonçalves (Por) JD Fontainhas        1.46.922
38 Rui Couto (Por) Castrovães Rodi              1.47.807
39 João Estevão (Por) JD Fontainhas             1.47.819
40 José Fernandes (Por) Ciclo Madeira           1.48.125
41 Sérgio Campos (Por) Team Baeta Be One        1.48.476
42 Emanuel Pombo (Por) Ciclo Madeira            1.49.179
43 Lain Deza (Spa)                              1.49.560
44 Adrian Stoica (Rou)                          1.50.345
45 Pedro Salgueiro (Por) Team Baeta Be One      1.51.423
46 Pedro Santo (Por) Bike Box Imati             1.52.436
47 Daniel Pombo (Por) Ciclo Madeira             1.52.557
48 Ivo Matias (Por) Bike Box Imati              1.53.473
49 Diego Alvarez (Spa)                          2.01.094
50 Alfons Mas / Juli Laudes (Spa) Tandem DH     2.21.762
1 Marielle Saner (Swi)                          1.44.527
2 Anne-Caroline Chausson (Fra) Commençal Bikes  1.45.153
3 Tracy Moseley (GBr) Kona Clarks               1.46.568
4 Anneke Beerten (Ned) Be One                   1.51.537
5 Miriam Blas (Spa) Caixa Galicia Felt          1.55.388
6 Eva Castro (Spa)                              1.56.787
7 Vanessa Quin (NZl)                            1.58.125
8 Violeta Janeiro (Spa) Caixa Galicia Felt      2.01.717