Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Olympia Series #2 - E1

Ancient Olympia, Greece, June 1, 2003


Buruczki overcomes heat and opponents

By Dimitris Konstantopoulos

Hungarian Szilard Buruczki won the 2nd round of the Olympia Series, which was held in Ancient Olympia. The superstar was the weather with lot of heat and humidity, which forced many riders into not showing their abilities. Buruczki was the leader for the two first laps (of a total of seven). Olympia Series #1 winner Oprea Tudor made an attack on the third lap, but was not able to keep the lead for more than a lap. Buruczki regained the lead and kept it until the finish line. There were good performances also from Hungarian Andras Parti and Greek Manolis Kotoulas, who finished second and third respectively.


1 Szilard Buruczki (Hun) KS Kistarcsai KE Magellan Team  2.17.16
2 Andras Parti (Hun) Jozsefhegyi SE                         0.57
3 Emmanouil Kotoulas (Gre) Paok                             3.30
4 Oprea Ovidiu-Tudor (Rom) CS Surmont Club Sibiu              7.28
5 Konstantinos Symelidis (Gre) Opp Aftodromos               8.52
6 Konstantinos Bardis (Gre) EOS Acharnon                   10.59
7 Vasileios Chortomaris (Gre) Opp Aftodromos               14.25
8 Andreas  Markakis (Gre) Poch Talos                       16.59
9 Mitja Tancik (Slo) Sd Energija Domzale                  2 laps
10 Periklis Ilias (Gre) Loaspor Dyt Attikis
11 Andreas Perrakis (Gre) Poch Talos
12 Marios Athanasiadis (Cyp) Cyprus National Team
13 Grigorios Melissis (Gre) APS Roda
14 Georgios Fattas (Cyp) Cyprus National Team
15 Stefanos Gkatziouras (Gre) AS Elassonas                3 laps
16 Nikolaos Kostopoulos (Gre) EOS Acharnon
17 Georgios Gkinis (Gre) Loaspor Dyt Attikis
18 Ioannis Skordas (Gre) Loaspor Dyt Attikis
19 Konstantinos Konstantinidis (Gre) Peko Thessaloniki
20 Ljubisa Kondev (Mkd) Oxygen
21 Dimitrios Dimitrakopoulos (Gre) PS Kronos Nikeas
22 Petros Tyrologos (Gre) Pesn Filadelfias                4 laps
23 Konstantinos Stamoulis (Gre) Panerithraikos As
24 Alexandros Papadimas (Gre) PO Patron
25 Dimitrios Papas (Gre) PO Patron
26 Ioannis Misailidis (Gre) Pesa Asteras
27 Anastassios Mastrotheodoros (Gre) EOS Acharnon
28 Ioannis Zavalis (Gre) AO Thiseas
29 Sokratis Grigoriadis (Gre) APS Roda
30 Georgios Tsalikis (Gre) AO Pagratiou
31 Georgios Kontopoulos (Gre) Messiniakos GS
32 Christos Vorvis (Gre) Spartiatikos GS
33 Alexandros Kambouropoulos (Gre) EOS Acharnon
34 Georgios Pattes-Toumanis (Gre) Loaspor Dyt Attikis
35 Panagiotis Vergetopoulos (Gre) PO Patron
36 Stefanos Vaskos (Gre) Pastr Asklipios
37 Georgios Paraskevas (Gre) Peko Thessaloniki
38 Ioannis Petridis (Gre) AS Proteas
39 Stanislav Takidis (Gre) Pesn Filadelfias
40 Konstantinos Orfanoudakis (Gre) Poch Talos
41 Antonios Deligiannis (Gre) Paok
42 Stylianos Sofiolakis (Gre) Poi Kastro                  5 laps
43 Dimitpios Galiouris (Gre) Pgs Larisas
44 Michail Dionysopoulos (Gre) EOS Acharnon
45 Dimitrios Lamprakis (Gre) AO Thiseas
46 Konstantinos Douvikas (Gre) EOS Acharnon
47 Ioannis Tsonis (Gre) Spartiatikos GS
48 Theodoros Limpas (Gre) PS Kronos Nikeas
49 Ioannis Psychogyios (Gre) AO Thiseas
50 Christos Katrakis (Gre) Loaspor Dyt Attikis
51 Zydian Nexhipi (Alb) PS Kronos Nikeas
52 Athanassios Tsilingiris (Gre) AO Thiseas
53 Eleftherios Nikolaou (Gre) APS Roda
54 Panagiotis Spanos (Gre) EOS Acharnon
55 Ioannis Anastasiadis (Gre) AS Proteas
56 Vasilios Spirou (Gre) AS Proteas                       6 laps
57 Nikolaos Sismanis (Gre) AS Proteas
58 Stavros Papadopoulos (Gre) Messiniakos GS
DNF Christos Papadopoulos (Gre) AS Proteas

Courtesy of Dimitris Konstantopoulos