Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 MTB index page for all MTB content

Cycling Ireland NPS Round #4 - NE

Butter Mountain, Brittas, July 27, 2003


By Shane Stokes

The Fiat LCV Racing team had a successful day out at the fourth round of the Cycling Ireland NPS at Butter Mountain, Brittas. John Lawlor got the better of the new champion Colin Ross in the elite race, while Jamie Popham and Peter Popham did the same in the junior and veterans events, leading home Derek Cowen and Ben Reid. Indeed Jamie Popham’s fine run saw him post the fastest time of the day, one second quicker than the elite winner John Lawlor.

In the four-cross events, Colin Ross was best in the combined senior/junior race, while the underage contest was won by Stephen McKintock of Donore Racing.


Cross Country
1 John Lawlor (Fiat LCV Racing)
2 C. Ross (In Touch Solutions)
3 D. McMullen (Plush)
1 David Egan (AB Racing)
2 E. Bjorsel (unattached)
3 N. Hunt (AB Racing)
1 Jamie Popham (Fiat LCV Racing)
2 B. Reid (Plush)
3 A. Sweeney (Anci Uotti) 
1 Michelle McCartney (Chain Reaction)
1 Declan Halton (unattached)
2 C. Young (Henley BMX)
1 Peter Popham (Fiat LCV Racing)
2 D. Cowen (Plush)
3 P. McGinn (unattached)
Under 16
1 Darren Quille (Newbridge CC)
2 M. Nugent (Cyclone)
3 M. Lee (unattached)
Under 14
1 Niall Wolfe (unattached)
2 L. Jones (Imprisal Racing)
3 P. Cummins (UCT)
Four cross
Senior and junior
1 Ross
2 A. Yoong (In Touch Solutions)
3 G. O’Keefe (O21 Race technology)
1 Stephen McKintock (Donore Racing)
2 M. Nugent (Cyclone)
3 S. McGinn (SMG Racing)