Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bray GP




Irish Cyclo-Cross League, round 1

Lurgan Park, October 20, 2002

Junior Mulvenna beats the big boys

By Tommy Campbell, Irish Independent/Evening Herald/Sunday Independent

Michael Mulvenna a member of the Ards Cycling Club and a junior showed up his more senior competitors to win the first cyclo-cross event of the year held in Lurgan Park, Co. Armagh.

Eleven times champion Robin Seymour from Kilmacanogue in Co. Wicklow, because of his supremacy in this discipline was the last of the three groups who raced around the park, starting six and a half minutes behind Mulvenna. Conditions were perfect for the first event of 10, which will be organised over the next couple of months. From the outset of eight laps of the course, the Ards youngster was always in command with the Joel Dieleman in close attendance. All the time, Seymour was cutting back the deficit and on the bell lap, he was just over a minute behind, but the finishing came too soon for the champion who came in 26 seconds down. On the run in to the finish, Matt Ferguson over hauled Dieleman to take third spot.

Last season's two protagonists who offered great competition from the Banbridge club, Don Travers and Roger Aiken were again in fine form and in the end Travers came off best.

Round Two goes ahead next weekend in Newry at mid-day.


1 Michael Mulvenna (Ards CC)               48.52
2 R. Seymour (WORC)                         0.26
3 M. Ferguson (XMTB)                        1.37
4 J. Dieleman (WORC)                        1.47
5 D. Travers (Banbridge CC)                 2.03
6 R. Aiken (Banbridge CC)
7 D. Gill (WORC)                            2.19
8 R. Lamont (XMTB)                          2.37
9 J. McCall (WORC)                          2.44
10 A. McDonald (Apollo CT)                  3.05
Under 16
1 Eoin Sheridan  (XMTB)
2 N. McConnell  (XMTB) (1st U14)
3 N. McGimpsey  (XMTB)
Under 12
1 WIlliam Boyd (XMTB)
2 Claire Oakley (XMTB)
3 R. Lamont (XMTB)
Previous results from Ireland