Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bray GP




Irish Cyclo-cross league #3

Kilcullen, Co. Kildare, November 3, 2002

Seymour still on top

By Tommy Campbell, Irish Independent/Evening Herald/Sunday Independent

Robin Seymour and some mud
Photo: © mtbireland.com
Click for larger image

Robin Seymour confirmed his superiority as the top cyclo-cross competitor in the land by winning the third round of the league yesterday in Kilcullen, Co. Kildare. His winning margin was 12 seconds over Roger Aiken from the Banbridge CC who along with a group had a minute advantage at the start of the 12 lap event over 1800 meters, such is the stature of Seymour at this discipline. From the outset Robin was always in control as he set about overhauling the race field, but conditions were far from ideal. Race organiser, Liam Walker admitted that, "conditions at times were far from satisfactory. The lads had to contend with a course that cut up and the showers, or should I say downpours made it difficult for the judges to see the numbers on the competitors," said Liam.

It was on the final lap that Robin finally got to the head of the race and after that it was a formality for the national champion to score his second successive victory. Roger Aiken came home in second place, but a puncture on the last lap by Don Travers certainly deprived him of a better placing.

Report by mtbireland.com:

The rain which came down on Wednesday and had not stopped did nothing to deter the riders from showing up for round 3 of this year's Cycling Ireland Cyclo-Cross league. The course that had been set by promoting club Kilcullen CC and current cyclo-cross champion Robin Seymour earlier in the week was today in parts unrecognizable, but in the end the wet conditions only added to the race with long sections turned into 8 inch deep muddy trenches forcing riders to run, which meant racing was close.

Once again Robin Seymour (Team-WORC) started from the back on his own, forging his way through the field until a puncture forced him to change a wheel giving Don Travers (Banbridge CC) and Roger Aiken (Banbridge CC) the opportunity to extend the gap between them and the current champion and forcing Seymour to chase hard to get back into contention. Fellow Team-WORC rider David Gill was looking good despite puncturing on the opening lap and changing to his spare bike. He managed to get up to 3rd place by the half way mark before a second puncture meant his race was over.

By lap eight out of the twelve lap race it looked like James Begley (Newbridge CC) and Stuart Galloway (Team-WORC) were going to take full advantage of this year's handicap system to take the top two places. By lap ten Seymour had Travers and Aiken in his sights and dug deep to bridge the gap to the two riders.

With one lap to go it was all to play for with Seymour, Travers and Aiken having passed Begley and Galloway. Starting the final lap Seymour and Travers crossed the line together with Aiken only a few seconds down in third. Seymour then applied some pressure on Travers and half way around the final lap Travers punctured and his tubular tyre came off the rim forcing him to run the rest of the lap letting Aiken pass him to take second place with Travers managing to hold on to third place and Apollo rider Aidan McDonald having another good ride to finish in fourth spot.

Next week's race heads back up North to Banbridge with promoting club Banbridge CC promising another good event. This year's league consists of six races with the best five counting towards total points. Full details of next weeks race will be on http://www.mtbireland.com during the week.

Special thanks to Kilcullen CC for promoting today's event; especially appreciated by the riders were the hot showers, bike wash and food after the event.


1 R. Seymour (WORC)                          51.25
2 R. Aiken (Banbridge CC)                     0.12
3 D. Travers (Banbridge CC)                   0.32
4 A. McDonald (Apollo CC)                     0.37
5 N. Quinlan (Cycleways Lee Strand)           1.01
6 B. Donnelly (Hillcrest Hire Kilcullen CC)   1.03
7 K. Meghan (UA)
8 J. Begley (Newbridge)
9 S. Galloway (W.O.R.C.)
10 J. Gillespie (Banbridge)
11 L. Ferguson (XMTB)
12 M. Dempsey (IMBRC)
13 R. McClure (Cycleways)
14 E. Sheridon (UA)
15 P. Anderson (Banbridge)
16 W. Mulligan (Banbridge)
17 D. Rawlings (Usher)
18 M. Ferguson (XMTB)
19 E. Redmond (IMBRC)
20 J. Dempsey* (Earl Of Desmond)
21 W. Byrne (Kilcullen)
* MTB, not eligible for league
Under 12
1 Reece Davidson (XMTB)
2 C. Farrell (Kilcullen)
Under 14
1 Matthew McCormack (Banbridge CC)
2 Liam Rawlings (Usher)
Under 16
1 Owen Sheridan (unattached)
Overall standings after three rounds
1 R. Seymour            87 pts
2 D. Travers            75
3 R. Aitken             71
4 A. McDonald           60
5 M. Mulvenna           44
6 K. Meghan             44
7 L. Ferguson           42
8 R. Lammont            38
9 B. Donnelly           28
10 A. Layhe             26
11 P. Anderson          24
12 S. Galloway          23
13 D. Gill              20
14 M. Dempsey           20
15 N. Quinlan           20
16 P. McSourly          19
17 J. Begly             18
18 J. McCall            16
19 W. Mulligan          12
20 J. Gillespie         11
21 K. Sloan              9
22 M. Ferguson           9
23 R. McClure            8
24 E. Sheridan           7
25 G. Coupland           5
26 T. Hare               5
27 D. Rawlings           4
28 J. McGlade            2
29 E. Redmond            2
30 W. Byrne              1


Previous results from Ireland