Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Ireland

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Bray GP




Irish Cyclo-cross League #6

Knockaree Park, Killarney, December 1, 2002

Seymour takes control

By Tommy Campbell, Irish Independent/Evening Herald/Sunday Independent

Robin Seymour (WORC) in Killarney, Co. Kerry won the penultimate event of the cyclo-cross league in the Cycling Ireland series yesterday afternoon. As expected Robin was totally in control on a .6-mile course, which was ideal with a mixture of grass, tarmac and gravel.

Set in Knockaree Park in the town of Killarney and against a backdrop of scenic lakes and mountains the competitors had to contend with very strong winds coming in off the lake. As expected Robin as pre race favourite was quick into his stride and despite giving five minutes to the limit group, he simply ate up the ground over eight laps. Within a relatively short space of racing on a course, which was ideal despite the inclement weather, he was dictating the pace. At the finish he was clear of Aidan McDonald who like Robin made the long journey to the "Kingdom" in search of vital points in the league. Next in the frame was Dave Gill.

In conjunction with the event, the Munster Championship was also decided with victory going to the 18-year-old Miceal Concannon, son of the organiser of the day's proceedings. With one event left in Bangor in a fortnight's time it will be a showdown between Seymour and McDonald who has certainly come into the reckoning after a sluggish start as to the overall winner of the league. Obviously on yesterday's performance, it would take a brave soul to go against the prowess of Seymour who has no dislike of the conditions that prevailed on the day.

Report by Shane Stokes

With just one round remaining in the national cyclo cross league Irish champion Robin Seymour looks set to lift the overall title, following another winning performance in the sixth round of the series. Starting at the back of the field, the Wicklow rider overcame his handicap to work his way past all other riders, eventually beating Apollo CC rival Aidan McDonald by over one minute. Third place went to Seymour's WORC team-mate Dave Gill, with Niall Quinlan (Cycleways Mad) and Keith Meghen (unattached) next home.

Meanwhile Conor O'Neill (Killarney CC), Denis Dunworth and Anthony Carolan (both Killorglin CC) ran out best in the under 12, under 14 and under 16 events.

Seymour has now taken three wins and one second place in the league and on that form, barring mishap, is likely to take his twelfth national title in the discipline next Saturday at Powerscourt.

The final round of the Irish cyclo cross league then follows on December 14th.

Results (8 x 0.6 mile laps)

1 Robin Seymour (Team Worc)                             45.55
2 A. McDonald (Apollo CC)                                1.15
3 D. Gill (Team Worc)                                    1.25
4 N. Quinlan (Cycleways Mad)                             1.26
5 K. Meghen (unattached)                                 3.52
6 D. O'Shea (Killarney CC)                               4.57
7 S. Galloway (Team Worc)                                6.08
8 M. Concannon (Killorglin CC)                           8.22

Munster Cyclo-Cross Championship

1 Miceal Concannon (Cork Institute of Technology).
Under 16
1 Anthony Carolan (Killorglin CC)
2 O. O'Connor (Killorglin CC) 
Under 14
1 Denis Dunworth (Killorglin CC)
2 D. Cassidy (Killarney CC)
3 T. O'Sullivan (Killorglin CC)
Under 12
1 Conor O'Neill (Killarney CC)
2 T. Walker (Killorglin CC)
3 D. Casey (Killarney CC) 
1 Tina Walker (Killorglin CC)

Previous results from Ireland