Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Mad Cross II - C2

Sun Prairie, Wisconsin, USA, September 28, 2008

2007 Results    Previous race

Page and Elliott double up in Wisconsin

Jonathan Page and Todd Wells
Photo ©: Jamie Young
(Click for larger image)

The second race of the Mad Cross Wisconsin weekend, the Jonathan Page Planet Bike Cup, had a familiar flavour to Saturday's opener. The elite men's race boasted a stacked field, with Jonathan Page (Planet Bike), Todd Wells (GT), Tim Johnson (Cyclocrossworld.com-Cannondale), Bjorn Selander (Ridley) and Troy Wells (Clif Bar) lining up for the race. Add to this three Swiss riders, a Canadian and riders from throughout the US and the racing was fast from the start.

Page, Johnson and the Wells brothers quickly got off the front of the field with Swiss rider Michael Muller (Planet Bike) chasing on his own. Page made three visits to the pits to swap bikes but found his way back to the group each time. However, when Johnson was forced to go into the pits Page and Todd Wells got a gap and the race turned into a two-man show.

The crowd, filled with local Planet Bike and GT employees as well as fans from throughout the Midwest, went crazy as Page and Wells matched each over the barriers and up the run up and through the twisty grass chicanes. With one lap to go it was any man's race as they headed up the last hill to the finishing straight. However, in the end Page had just that little bit more and took his second win of the weekend.

In the elite women's race Natasha Elliott (EMD Serono/Stevens) once again dominated the race and took an early lead that no one could challenge. Just behind her, Sarah Kerlin (HRS/Rock Lobster) was locked in a duel with junior national champion Anna Young (Planet Bike). Going into the last lap Young was on Kerlin's wheel and made a pass on the run-up. However, the experienced Kerlin bided her time and on the climb to the finish surged ahead to hold on to second place, with Young just behind in third.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Jamie Young/www.jamieyoungphoto.com


Elite men
1 Jonathan Page (USA) Planet Bike                                                   
2 Todd Wells (USA) Gt                                                               
3 Troy Wells (USA) Team Clif Bar                                                    
4 Michael Mueller (Swi) Planet Bike                                                 
5 Bjorn Selander (USA) Ridley Factory Team                                          
6 Timothy Johnson (USA) Cannondale                                                  
7 Mark Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike                                                    
8 Brian Matter (USA) Gear Grinder                                                   
9 Jesse Lalonde (USA) Planet Bike                                                   
10 Yves Corminboeuf (Swi) Team Scott-Sram-Pro Cycles                                
11 Adam Bergman (USA) Texas Roadhouse                                               
12 Steve Tilford (USA) Trek Stores                                                  
13 Derrick St John (Can) Steven'S Cross                                             
14 Steven Scholzen (USA) Iscorp                                                     
15 Matt Brandt (USA) Mesa Cycles                                                    
16 Josh Johnson (USA) Big Shark Racing                                              
17 Travis Woodruff (USA) Momentumendurance.Com                                      
18 Brian Eppen (USA) Mercy-Specialized                                              
19 Pat Lemieux (USA) Bianchi/Gp                                                     
20 Brian Conant (USA) The Pony Shop                                                 
21 Jordan Roessingh (USA) Iscorp Cycling Team/Nova Cycle Sports Foundation, Inc.    
22 Benjamin Popper (USA) Hrs / Rock Lobster                                         
23 Scott Mclaughlin (USA) Sram Factory Team                                         
24 Molly Cameron (USA) Vanilla Bicycles                                             
25 Kyle Jacobson (USA) Nova/Is Corp                                                 
26 Casey McCauley (USA) Nova/Is Corp                                                
27 Lance Niles (USA) Brones' Bike Shop/Rvcc                                         
28 Bill Street (USA) Gear Grinder                                                   
29 Seth Eckert (USA) Gdvc                                                           
30 David Hackworthy (USA) Ridley                                                    
31 Spencer Haugh (USA) Grumpy'S/Lgr                                                 
DNF Grant Berry (USA) Rocky Mtn Choc Factory                                        
DNF Guillame Dessibourg (Swi) Team Bmc-Teker                                        
DNF Isaac Neff (USA) Alderfer Bergen                                                
DNF Ryan Barthel (USA) Rocky Mtn Chocolate Factory                                  
DNF Luca Lenzi (USA) Pony Shop                                                      
Elite women
1 Natasha Elliott (Can) Emd Serono/Stevens                                          
2 Sarah Kerlin (USA) Hrs/ Rock Lobster                                              
3 Anna Young (USA) Planet Bike                                                      
4 Devon Haskell (USA) Pony Shop                                                     
5 Kathy Sherwin (USA) Velo Bella - Kona                                             
6 Catherine Walberg (USA) Trek                                                      
7 Maria Stewart (USA) Velo Bella                                                    
8 Linda Sone (USA) Ridley Factory Team                                              
9 Kristin Wentworth (USA) Planet Bike                                               
10 Kaitlin Antonneau (USA) Nova-Iscorp                                              
11 Holly Klug (USA) Killjoy                                                         
12 Corey Coogan (USA) Ridley Factory Team                                           
13 Robin Williams (USA) Mercy-Specialized                                           
14 Amanda Pischke (USA) Capitol Velo Club                                           
15 Elicia Hildebrand (USA) Gear Grinder                                             
16 Monique Karlen (USA) Team Kenda Tire                                             
17 Whitney Kroll (USA) Cane Creek                                                   
18 Sydney Brown (USA) Midwest Trek/Sram (Cx) - Team Revolution (Road)               
DNF Rebecca Much (USA) Xxx Racing-Athletico