Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Jim Horner Cyclocross Grand Prix - C2

Edmonton, Canada, October 6-7, 2007


Heemskerk and Simms ride away to victory

The Elite Men put on a great display of cyclo-cross racing with Ryan Hopping (United Cycle) leading for the first lap with a group of four riders, Tim Heemskerk (United Cycle), Mike Bidniak (Trek/Red Truck Beer), Shaun Adamson (Juventus Cycling Club) and Shawn Bunnin (Bicisport), some 10 seconds back. Heemskerk bridged to Hopping and then broke away, stringing out the group.

The Netherlands' Heemskerk stayed out front all the way home to take victory from United Cycle team-mate Hopping. Bunnin and Adamson sprinted against one another to take fourth and fifth respectively behind third placed Mike Bidniak (Trek/Red Truck Beer).

In the Elite Women race Wendy Simms (Kona-YourKey Mortgage) led from the start with Pepper Harlton (Juventus Cycling Club) in close pursuit for the first couple of laps. Kelly Jones (Sugoi/Cannondale/Bontrager) and Mical Dyck (Terrascape racing) were about 30 seconds back.

Dyck had bridged up to Harlton and dropped her as the finish neared. While Dyck left Harlton in her tracks, the Canadian was unable to reel in her countrywoman Simms, who rode on to victory, and settled for second place.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Alan Schietzsch/ARS Technical Images


Elite Men

1 Tim Heemskerk (Ned) United Cycle
2 Ryan Hopping (Can) United Cycle
3 Mike Bidniak (Can) Trek/Red Truck Beer
4 Shawn Bunnin (Can) Bicisport
5 Shaun Adamson (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
6 Kevin Noiles (Can) Independent
7 Stephen Ferris (Can) ERTC / Red Bike
8 Cyrus Kangarloo (Can) Team H & R Block
9 Aaron Schooler (Can) ERTC / Red Bike
10 Andrew Thomas (Can) Team Saskatchewan ERTC / Red Bike

Elite Women

1 Wendy Simms (Can) Kona-YourKey Mortgage
2 Mical Dyck (Can) Terrascape Racing
3 Pepper Harlton (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
4 Kelly Jones (Can) Sugoi/Cannondale/Bontrager
5 Rhonda Stickle (Can) ERCT
6 Susan Clarke (Can) BCW Cycling Club
7 Krystyn Ong (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
8 Kendra Middleton (Can) Juventus Cycling Club
9 Shantel Koenig (Can) Independent
10 Jolea Bilodeau (Can) Blizzard Bike Club