Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Irish Cyclo-cross Championships - CN

Banbridge Academy, Ireland, January 6, 2007

2006 Results    Results    Past winners

Fifteenth cyclo-cross title for Seymour

By Shane Stokes

Wicklow rider Robin Seymour successfully defended his cyclo-cross crown at today’s national championships, beating 2004/2005 winner Roger Aiken to take a remarkable fifteenth career victory at the discipline.

The race was held at the Banbridge Academy in Co. Down. Ulster champion Lewis Ferguson took bronze, with veterans Robert Lamont and Peter McConville riding strongly to net fourth and fifth. WORC riders Joe McCall and Dave Gill finished sixth and seventh and with Seymour placing first, this ensured the team prize for the Wicklow club.

Seymour won the race despite a tumble due to the slippery conditions. He elected to change wheels to improve grip but was able to get back up to the front runners and then go on to net gold. He has also won 13 consecutive mountain bike cross country titles.

In the other categories, Sean Downey (Banbridge CC) beat Graham Boyd (XMTB) and Francis Newton (Usher IRC) in the junior race. Tarja Owens (Team WORC) was best of the women, finishing ahead of Ciara McManus (XMTB) and C. Patterson (Dromara CC).

XMTB rider Robert Lamont beat Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers) and Jon Runciman (Banbridge CC) to win the veterans demonstration event.


1 Robin Seymour (Team WORC)           52.59
2 Roger Aiken (Banbridge CC)           0.22
3 Lewis Ferguson (Team BHB)            3.42
4 Robert Lamont (XMTB)                 6.37
5 Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers)    6.44
6 Joe McCall (Team WORC)               6.53
7 Dave Gill (Team WORC)                7.02
8 Neil Delahaye (Usher IRC)            7.14
One lap behind
9 Sean Downey (Banbridge CC)               
10 James McCluskey (Team WORC)             
11 Alisdair McSorley (Apollo CT)           
12 Conor Campbell (Newry Wheelers)         
13 Don Travers (Banbridge CC)              
14 B.Monagan (Newry Wheelers)              
15 Y. Sugno (Team WORC)                    
16 Graham Boyd (XMTB)                      
17 P. O'Farrell (unattached)               
18 K. Meghen (Team WORC)                   
19 E. Ryan (Team WORC)                     
20 G. Henning (Newry Wheelers)             
21 B. Minnock (unattached)                 
22 N. Quinlan (MyHome.ie/Cycleways)        
23 P. Roche (Team WORC)                    
24 M.Cowan (Plush)                         
25 Jon Runciman (Banbridge CC)             
26 Tarja Owens (Team WORC)                 
27 B. Donnelly (Kilcullen)                 
28 C. Keogh (Kilcullen)                    
29 J. McAuley (Apollo CT)                  
30 M. Hamilton (North Down)                
31 Fred McSorley (Apollo CT)               
32 L. Manning (IMBRC)                      
33 D. O'Brien (IMBRC)                      
Two laps behind
34 D. McKnight (Dromara CC)                
35 W. Forsythe (Banbridge CC)              
36 L. Baxter (Newry Wheelers)              
37 J. Walter (Kilcullen)                   
38 Francis Newton (Usher IRC)              
39 Ciara McManus (XMTB)                    
Three laps behind
40 C. Patterson (Dromara CC)               
41 G. Quinn (Banbridge CC)                 
DNF L.McGreevey (Banbridge CC)             
DNF W. Mulligan (Banbridge CC)             
DNF P.O'Reilly (IMBRC)                     
DNF D. Barry (IMBRC)                       
DNF S. Downey (M.A.D.)                     
1 Sean Downey (Banbridge CC)               
2 Graham Boyd (XMTB)                       
3 Francis Newton (Usher IRC)               
1 Tarja Owens (Team WORC)                  
2 Ciara McManus (XMTB)                     
3 C. Patterson (Dromara CC)                
1 Robert Lamont (XMTB)                     
2 Peter McConville (Newry Wheelers)        
3 Jon Runciman (Banbridge CC)              
4 Fred McSorley (Apollo CT)                
5 W. Forsythe (Banbridge CC)               
6 G. Quinn (Banbridge CC)                  
7 W. Mulligan (Banbridge CC)               

Past winners

2006 Robin Seymour (Team WORC)
2004 Roger Aiken (Banbridge)         
2003 Robin Seymour
2002 Robin Seymour
2001 Robin Seymour
2000 Robin Seymour
1999 Robin Seymour
1998 Robin Seymour
1997 Robin Seymour
1996 Robin Seymour
1995 Robin Seymour
1994 Robin Seymour
1993 Robin Seymour
1992 Robin Seymour
1991 Robin Seymour

Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com