Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Giro finale
Photo ©: Bettini

 UCI codes explained

Vermont Gran Prix of Cyclocross - C2

USA, September 17, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Johnson, Wallace, score wins in Vermont UCI ‘Cross

By Alan Coté

The Vermont Grand Prix of Cyclocross opened the East Coast's UCI CX season on September 24. Held on the cross country ski trails of the Catamount Family Center, 10 miles from Burlington, Vermont, the event served up two full days of racing, with day two including UCI points on the line for Elite men and women.

The 1.8 mile no-pavement course wound through the open grassy meadows and hardwood forest of Catamount, and included the expected array of tight off-camber turns and dismounts – all surrounded by the impressive backdrop of the Green Mountains.

Day one's warm-up race saw New England's favourite son Mark McCormack (Cliff Bar), a two-time National ‘cross champion, pound out a comfortable 1 minute lead in the opening laps, before dropping back after ripping the rear derailleur from his bike and running half a lap to the pit. McCormack's misfortune opened the door to Quebec's Mathieu Toulouse (Team Maxis) taking the win. In the woman's race, Amy Wallace (RGM/Richard Sachs) soled to victory without a serious challenge.

Sunday's UCI event saw bigger, higher-quality fields on the line, including past national champions Tim Johnson (Cannondale) and Jesse Anthony (Cliff Bar). McCormack and Johnson quickly shot into the lead, as Anthony suffered the same mechanical fate as his teammate McCormack did the day before. Then McCormack was dogged with bad luck once again, as a flat tire put him 30 seconds behind Johnson on lap three.

"I didn't know exactly what happened to Mark – suddenly he just wasn't on my wheel anymore", Johnson said. But Johnson continued turning the fastest lap times, taking the win by 1:07 over McCormack. "We were going well together until I flatted," said McCormack. "But I couldn't catch him – Tim was the strongest out there today." Jeremy Powers (Jelly Belly) nearly caught McCormack on final lap to take third.

The UCI women's race also came down to a two-rider duel. Wallace and Maureen Bruno-Roy quickly left the rest of the small field of 15 behind. The paired worked together over the wind-blown course, before Wallace shook-off Bruno-Roy coming out the final technical curves to take the win by nine seconds on the line. "I didn't expect two wins here this weekend," said Wallace, who's only riding her second season of ‘cross.


Elite Men

1 Tim Johnson (USA) Cannondale-Cyclocrossworld.com                    57.19
2 Mark McCormack (USA) Team Clif Bar                                   1.07
3 Jeremy Powers (USA) Jelly Belly Cycling                              1.27
4 Mathieu Toulouse (Can) Team Maxxis                                   2.00
5 Matthew (USA) White (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team            2.27
6 Jamey Driscoll (USA) FiordiFrutta                                    2.41
7 Dan Timmerman (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team                  2.52
8 Matt Kraus (USA) Alan Factory Team                                   3.28
9 Benoit Simard (USA) Specialized Canada                               4.06
10 John Hanson (USA) Nerac/Outdoorlights.com Pro Cycling Team          4.29
11 Michael Cody (USA) FiordiFrutta Cycling Team                        4.39
12 Alec Donahue (USA) Joe's Garage/ Reynolds Composites                4.40
13 Jesse Anthony (USA) Team Clif Bar                                   4.46
14 Johannes Huseby (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team               4.57
15 Charles Marzot (USA) CL Noonan/ Coast to Coast/ KAM                 5.26
16 Adam Myerson (USA) Nerac-OutdoorLights.com Pro Cycling              5.41
17 Daniel Coady (USA) NCC - BikeReg.com                                5.46
18 Kevin Bouchard-Hall (USA) Kenda/Raleigh Racing                      6.26
19 Chris Peck (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team                    6.39
20 David Gagnon (USA) Opus                                             6.45
21 Andrew Freye (USA) Bikeman.com/Salsa Cycles                         7.19
22 William Dugan (USA) BCA/VOmax                                       7.35
23 Kevin Hankens (USA) Alan Factory Team                               8.01
DNF Chris Rodzilsky (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team                  
DNF ward solar (USA) Natures Path presented by Fuji Pro/Am Cycling Team    
DNF Brian Hayes (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs - Rex Chiu               
DNF Noah Taylor (USA) RGM Watches-Richard Sachs -Rex Chiu                  
DNF Jerome Townsend (USA) Alan                                             
DNF Tom Gosselin (USA) Independent Fabrication/Channel Cafe                
DNF Peter Rubijono (USA) HarrisCycleryRacing.com                           
DNF Curt Davis (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team                       
DNF Brad Sheehan (USA) 1ktoGo Sports                                       
DNF Cory Burns (USA) FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team                       
DNF Dylan O'Sullivan (USA) Team Bicycle Alley                              
DNF Alistair Sponsel (USA) Colavita Racing                                 
DNF Corey Piscopo (USA) NorEast                                            
DNF Steve Wallace (USA)                                                    

Elite Women

1 Amy Wallace (USA) RGM Watches - Richard Sachs - Rex Chiu            34.07
2 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Independent Fabrication                      0.09
3 Mandy Lozano (USA) Cheerwine                                         0.58
4 Rebecca Wellons (USA) Gearworks/Spin Arts Cycling                    1.44
5 Stephanie White (USA) Velo Bella                                     2.17
6 Marci Titus Hall (USA) Team International Bike/NERAC                 3.13
7 Perri Mertens (USA) harriscycleryracing.com                          3.31
8 Catherine Dudley (USA) Putney/West Hill                              3.57
9 Susan MacLean (USA) Gear Works/Spin Arts Cycling Team                4.17
10 Cris Rothfuss (USA) NEBC/Cycle Loft                                 5.21
11 Celeste Drumm (USA) FTS Dave's Bike Shop                            6.09
12 Katrina Davis (USA) Richard Sachs                                   6.41
13 Elizabeth White (USA) NEBC                                          7.36
14 Amanda Cox (Can) Team Kenda Tire                                    9.53
DNF Megan Bilodeau (USA) NCC - BikeReg.com