Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Aalterse Jaarmarkttrofee - C2

Aalter, Belgium, September 20, 2006

2005 Results    Results    Past winners

Vervecken wins; Nys has a run in with spectator

World champion Erwin Vervecken has won the Aalterse Jaarmarkttrofee in a three man sprint, beating Sven Vanthourenhout and Niels Albert at the end of an eventful race. The winner of the last two editions, Sven Nys (Rabobank) had a run-in with a spectator, who moved a barricade into his path, causing him to crash. Nys punched the spectator, then reported him to the police.

"I did that because I really had the impression that the man wanted to take me down," explained Nys. "In that, he succeeded. After the incident, Peter van den Abeele came to me with the guy. He told me that he did not want to hit me and was even a supporter of me. But when he gave a false address, I went to the police. My season could have ended here."


1 Erwin Vervecken (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team             59.48
2 Sven Vanthourenhout (Bel) Rabobank                        
3 Niels Albert (Bel) Palmans-Sapim-Collstrop            0.02
4 Kevin Pauwels (Bel) Fidea Cycling Team                0.12
5 Jonathan Page (USA) Cervélo                           0.16
6 Thomas Frischknecht (Swi)                             0.22
7 Florian Vogel (Swi)                                   0.49
8 Christian Heule (Swi) Stevens Racing Team                 
9 Dieter Vanthourenhout (Bel)                               
10 Maxime Lefebvre (Fra)                                0.50
11 Johannes Sickmüller (Ger) Stevens Racing Team        1.30
12 Peter Presslauer (Aut) Stevens Racing Team           1.42
13 Jempy Drucker (Lux)                                  1.49
14 Nico Clarysse (Bel) Saey Deschacht                       
15 Björn Rondelez (Bel)                                 2.16
16 Pedro Baelen (Bel)                                   2.24
17 Marius Gil (Pol) Strzelce Krajenskie                 2.27
18 Ronald Mutsaars (Ned)                                    
19 Mike Thielemans (Bel)                                2.34
20 Patrick Bassez (Bel)                                 2.42
21 Rafael Visinelli (Ita) V.C. Bologna                  3.15
22 Bjorn De Decker (Bel)                                3.57
23 Arne Daelmans (Bel) Chocolade Jacques - T Interim    4.22
24 Bjorn Traen (Bel)                                        
25 Christophe Roodhooft (Bel) Palmans-Sapim-Collstrop       
26 Harm Vandekerckhove (Bel)                                
27 Kenneth Van Compernolle (Bel)                            
28 Gert De Vos (Bel)                                        
29 Nicky David (Bel)                                    6.00
Starters: 42

Past winners

2005 Sven Nys (Ned) Rabobank                            
2004 Sven Nys (Bel) Rabobank  
Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com