Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Whitemore's Super Cross Cup #2 - C2

Southampton, New York, USA, October 1, 2006

Results Photography

A family affair: Bessette and Johnson take day 2 on Long Island

Masters winner Robert Campos (HVC/Jessie's)
Photo ©: Marco Quesada
(Click for larger image)

The south fork of Long Island has always been known for it's vacationing tourists, so the first family of cyclocross ended their weekend excursion to Southampton, New York on a winning note, taking day 2 of the Whitmores Super Cross Cup.

Bessette (Cyclocrossworld.com) was the overwhelming favorite after drubbing the field on day 1; but she had a new face to deal with and a challenging one in 2006 NORBA National Champion and 2005 Mid-Atlantic series winner Georgia Gould (Luna), who was taking her first UCI cyclocross start of the young season. The start was all Bessette once again, but unlike Saturday she had company for the first lap in the form of Gould, who was out to prove that she could not only hang with Bessette but take her down. But alas it only lasted one lap, as Bessette just powered away from Gould and took an advantage that was never to be breached.

Showing some of the form that has made her both a six time national champ,
Photo ©: Marco Quesada
(Click for larger image)

Bessette is starting the season off in fine form, not showing any affects from a long layoff from top competition after her retirement from the road seven months ago. Gould held on easily for second and showed that she will be a force this year in the elite levels of cyclo-cross. Defending Masters national champion Mo Bruno-Roy (Independent Fabrications) took home third spot and completed the weekend with twopodium showings.

The men's race was all about chasing right from the gun, as Barry Wicks (Kona) got an gap after the Red Bull barrier prime on lap one and left the elite members of the peloton to chase. At first only Jesse Anthony (Clif Bar) seemed to have the ability to reach Wicks, but the others were keeping things close and making sure Wicks didn't get too far ahead. This strategy paid off as Wicks eventually faded and left the lead in the hands of Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld.com), who had a bad start and worked his way from 12th spot early to get to the front.

Johnson took advantage of the technical nature of the course and its short length to stay off the front, despite the efforts of Clif Bar's Mark McCormack and Anthony, and Saturday's winner Ryan Trebon (Kona) to bring things back together. By halfway into the race, it was apparent that Johnson had great legs, as his margin was increasing while the main chase group was losing steam as McCormack uncharacteristically was fading leaving Anthony isolated with the stronger Trebon. Trebon eventually dropped Anthony and went after Johnson alone, but ran out of time as Johnson was not to be denied for his second win of the season. Trebon had to settle for a hard-fought second while Anthony held off a late-charging McCormack for third and the final spot on the podium.


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Marco Quesada/www.marcoquesada.com


Elite Men

1 Tim Johnson (Cannondale/Cyclocrossworld.com)                 59.42
2 Ryan Trebon (Kona)                                            0.44
3 Jesse Anthony (Team Clif Bar)                                 1.00
4 Mark Mccormack (Team Clif Bar)                                1.06
5 Mathieu Toulouse (Team Maxxis Cyclocross)                     1.08
6 Ben Jacques-Maynes (Cyclocrossworld.com)                      1.09
7 Barry Wicks (Kona)                                            1.52
8 Troy Wells (TIAA-CREF / CLIF BAR)                             2.08
9 Matthew White (FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team)               2.31
10 Matt Kraus (Alan Factory Team)                               3.16
11 Simon Vickers (HRS/Rock Lobster)                             3.27
12 Jamey Driscoll (FiordiFrutta Elite Cycling Team)             3.43
13 Kevin Bradford-Parish (REDLINE FACTORY TEAM)                 3.55
14 Ryan Leech (Meredith Group-Cannondale-GPOA)                  4.10
15 Roger Aspholm (Westwood Velo)                                4.17
16 Joshua Snead (HRS/Rock Lobster)                              4.31
17 David Wyandt (HRS-Rocklobster)                               4.42
18 Justin Spinelli (RGM Watches - RICHARD SACHS - REX CHIU)     5.37
19 Charlie Storm (Back to Dirt Racing)                          5.53
20 Kyle Douglas (3 rox racing/scott)                            6.29

One lap behind

21 Ryan Barthel (Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory)           
22 Adam Myerson (Nerac-Outdoorlights.com Pro Cycling)        
23 Grant Berry (Team Rocky Mtn Chocolate Factory)             
24 Harlan Price (Independent Fabrications)                   
25 Tyler Johnson (LOUIS GARNEAU/EASTON)                       
27 Robert Giannini (CRCA/Sakonnet Technology U25)             
28 Myles Romanow (Hvc/Jessie's)                               

Elite Women

1 Lyne Bessette (Can) Cyclocrossworld.com                      43.40
2 Georgia Gould (USA) Team Luna                                 0.37
3 Maureen Bruno Roy (USA) Independent Fabrication/Wheelworks    1.50
4 Christine Vardaros (USA) Lotto-Belisol Ladiesteam             2.22
5 Tara Ross (Can) Cheerwine Cycling                             2.26
6 Mandy Lozano (USA) Cheerwine                                  3.54
7 Mackenzie Dickey (USA)                                        5.01
8 Anna Milkowski (USA) Velo Bella-Kona                          5.24
9 Melanie Swartz (USA) Velo Bella/Kona                          5.52
10 Pauline Frascone (USA) Independent Fabrication/Kempner       6.38
One lap behind

11 Erin Kassoy (USA) Velo Bella-Kona                                
12 Alicia Hamblen (USA) RGM WATCHES-RICHARD SACHS-REX CHIU          
13 Lisa Most (USA) Wissahickon                                      
14 Megan Bilodeau (USA) NCC - BikeReg.com                           
15 Amy Wallace (USA) RGM WATCHES - RICHARD SACHS - REX CHIU         
16 Heidi Von Teitenberg (USA) C3/ADG/Joe's                          
17 Tammy Ebersole (USA) Evolution Racing