Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Bayern Rundfahrt
Photo ©: Schaaf

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Iowa State Cyclocross Championship

Newton, IA, United States of America, October 29, 2006

Team Skin cheerleaders
Photo ©: Tom Hollander
(Click for larger image)

By Marc Hollander

Mild temperatures and fast Cyclo-cross racing took over Woodland Park in Newton, Iowa, for the 2006 Iowa State Cyclocross Championship races last weekend. The race started off quickly with the lead changing numerous times. ICCC/Mercy/Specialized 'crossers Brian Eppen and Nathan Moenk dominated the large field and took the first and second in the Category 1/2/3 event. Eppen won the Category 1/2 gold medal on a Specialized Tri Cross S-Works singlespeed and Moenk took the Category 3 gold. Triton Homes/Midwest Speed Merchant 'cross newbie JJ Bailey, a world-class triathlete, took third overall and the silver in the Category 1/2 event. Team Skin's Cully Todd took the Category 1/2 bronze and Team 14/MBWC 'crossers Thaddeus Neil and Chris Maharry took the silver and bronze in the Category 3 event.

The strongly contested women's event ended with Amanda Miller from Atlas Cycling taking first and the gold while the ICCC/Mercy/Specialized duo of Tammy Meehan and Jane Riessen took silver and bronze.

The race ended with a raffle for a 2007 Specialized Tri Cross Comp cyclocross bicycle, which raised $2,000 for the Crohns and Colitis Foundation of America, Iowa Chapter.


Category 4/5 Men
1 Chris Hansen (Team 14/Pedros)
2 Bryan Moritz (DICE)
3 Andy Lueck (ICCC)
4 William Huntsberger (DICE)
5 Dominic Moraniec (Atlas Cycling)
6 Steve Bullerman (BikeTech Racing)
7 David Burke (Unattached)
8 Brian Farrell (Team 14/Pedros)
9 Steve Beals (Northern Rockies)
10 Jeff Farrell (Team 14/Pedros)
11 Tom Langhead (Unattached)
12 Michael Clark (Unattached)
13 Kyle Williams (University of Iowa)
14 Jeff Dullard (Team Skin)
15 Steve Robinson (All 9 Yards.com)
16 Jeff Corcoran (TEam Skin)
17 Taylor Webb (Irwins/Toyota)
18 Jesse Gerlits (DMOS)
19 Paul Varnum (Team 14/Pedros)
20 Jim Cooper (Unattached)
21 Steve Fry (Unattached)
22 Mike Johnson (BikeTech Racing)
DNF Todd Gillihan (Team Skin)
1 Jeremiah Gantzer (DICE)
Women Open 
1 Amanda Miller (Atlas Cycling)
2 Tammy Meehan (ICCC)
3 Jane Riessen (ICCC)
4 Robin Goforth (University of Iowa)
5 Jami Hartwig (Team Skin)
6 Sandy Kessler (Team Skin)
7 Andrea Venteicher (All 9 Yards.com)
Masters 30+ 
1 Lee Venteicher (All 9 Yards.com)
2 Tracey Thompson (Atlas Cycling)
3 William Huntsberger (DICE)
4 Brent Hauser (CICC)
5 Matt Scotton (Team 14/Pedros)
6 Jane Riessen (ICCC)
Masters 40+ 
1 Jim Robidoux (All 9 Yards.com)
2 John Peters (Unattached)
3 Dominic Moraniec (Atlas Cycling)
4 Brad Patty (Team 14/Pedros)
5 Dave Hammer (DMOS)
6 Pat Hanrahan (DICE)
7 Phil Curran (DICE)
8 Paul Jensen (All 9 Yards.com)
DNF Randy Catron (DMOS)
Masters 50+ 
1 Landon Beachy (BikeTech Racing)
2 John Adamson (BikeTech Racing)
3 Dan Shaffer (ICCC)
4 Mike Guidici (DICE)
5 Richard Gilmore (BikeTech Racing)
Category 1/2/3 
1 Brian Eppen (ICCC)
2 Nathan Moenk (ICCC)
3 JJ Bailey (Triton Homes)
4 Cully Todd (Team Skin)
5 Sean Noonan (Team 14/Pedros)
6 Thad Neil (Team 14/Pedros)
7 John Meehan (ICCC)
8 Chris Maharry (Team 14/Pedros)
9 Jeremy Reimer (Lincoln Plating)
10 Tony Nichols (Triton Homes)
11 Rob Versteegh (Team 14/Pedros)
12 Kelly Irwin (Northern Rockies)
13 Ian Robinson (Two Bee Racing)
14 Bruce Grell (DICE)
15 Marc Hollander (All 9 Yards.com)
DNF Josh Lukins (Unattached)