Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

North Carolina Grand Prix #2 - C2

Hendersonville, NC, USA, November 19, 2006


Winfield and Fior de Frutta Doubles in North Carolina

By Janet Trubey

Matt White (Fior de Frutta) on his way to winning
Photo ©: Trish Albert
(Click for larger image)

Day two of the North Carolina Grand Prix UCI races, held at the same venue in Hendersonville, saw a repeat performance by Diedre Winfield and team Fior de Frutta in the men's race. A new course was prepared overnight that sent racers in the opposite direction in many sections, while keeping some of the pivotal elements like the step-up run-up and the infamous 'wall.' Michael Cody, winner of day one, said the course was "fantastic with short powerful burst sections and a fun course design." With a cold front moving in the temperatures dropped from Saturday's races as the increased wind provided an extra test to the racers' power.

Charlie Storm (Inland Construction)
Photo ©: Trish Albert
(Click for larger image)

The men's race began with Jon Hamblin (RGM-Richard Sachs) taking the hole shot. However, Matt White (Fior de Frutta) stated that, "today I was not going to play nice" made a huge move on the 180-degree turn after 'the wall' and by the end of the prologue section of the course had already established himself as the leader. Midway through the first lap, he held a 22 second lead over an eight-man chase group. With a few from the group not content racing for second, gaps began to open up during the second trip up 'the wall.' Michael Cody (Fior de Frutta), winner of Saturday's race, was the first to break out of the group. Tristan Schouten (Trek-VW), Adam Myerson (Nerac), Charlie Storm (Inland Construction) and Hamblin followed. With both Frutta boys, who had raced together the previous day up the road, the chase group became unsettled. It was Schouten, who had enjoyed the courses in North Carolina so much last year he made a return trip, made it worth it as he made a huge effort to bridge up to Cody. After one lap together, the two resolved to work together when it was obvious that Cody would not make it up to his teammate. On the final lap, Schouten made a move in the woods to lead into the last few technical sections and opened up enough of a gap to roll in for second on the day. Cody completed out the podium in third. Meanwhile, a battle was brewing for fourth place between Myerson, Storm and Hamblin. Strong cheers from the crowd willed North Carolina's own Storm to fourth place, with Myerson and Hamblin on his heels. After his win, White was "psyched to see a more exciting tactical race, and two wins for the team in two days."

Diedre Whitfield (Velo Bella)
Photo ©: Trish Albert
(Click for larger image)

It was no surprise to anyone who witnessed Saturday's women race, that Diedre Winfield (Velo Bella) was a marked woman. Through the prologue and first half of the first lap, Winfield had company with Amy Wallace (RGN-WAT) and Kelly Jones (Sugoi Factory). Mandy Lozano (Cheerwine) reached the three riders midway through the first lap. But Winfield's favorite section, the long climb in the woods, was where she made her first move taking Wallace with her. It was 'the wall' which Winfield described as a "mental thing, 'Am I going to make it up?'" that gave Jones the edge over Lozano on lap two. With the top four riders working in pairs, the race was much closer than Saturday's. However, those putting their money on Winfield were not to be disappointed as she made the final move for the win on the second lap coming out of the woods. She was not to be touched again. Wallace, exhausted from staying with Winfield's pace for two laps, dropped back to Jones and Lozano. The three rode together until Lozano got caught up in tape. At that point, Jones and Wallace decided to work together to make sure they would stay in front of Lozano. Wallace knew she wanted to lead into the final trip up the wall and was able to take second from Jones. After stepping down from the top step of the podium two days in a row, Winfield, mother of a 16 month old little girl, exclaimed that being a mom is "way harder than bike racing."

Other winners from the day included: Oscar Clark (Men's CX2-3), Jason Morgan (Masters 35+), Randy Shields (Masters 45+), Hope Ann Snyder-Walsh (Women's CX 3- 4), Craig Henly (Men's CX 4), Jacob Wood (Juniors 15-18) and Chase Pilcher (Juniors 10-14)


For a thumbnail gallery of these images, click here

Images by Trish Albert/www.southeasterncycling.com

Images by Robert Harvey/www.RobertWHarvey.com

Images by Sean Letterman/www.seanletterman.com


1 Matt White            56.16
2 Tristan Schouten       0.05
3 Michael Cody           0.10
4 Charles Storm          0.30
5 Adam Myerson           1.15
6 Jon Hamblen            1.25
7 Charles Pendry         1.38
8 Taylor Carrington      1.42
9 Andy Applegate         1.52
10 David Wyandt          2.02
11 Nathan Rice           2.40
12 Joshua Johnson        2.41
13 Robert Foshag         2.55
14 Greg Wittwer          3.03
15 Brian Hayes           3.05
16 Travis Livermon       3.14
17 Shawn Harshman        4.10
18 Jeremy Walker         4.27
19 Nathan Wyatt          4.45
20 Jeff Weinert          5.16
21 Lucas Livermon            
22 Tim Barrett           5.17
23 John Degele           5.54
24 Josh Stevens          6.33
25 Daryl Sawyer          7.56
26 Michael Seek          8.33
DNF Jonathan Card            
DNF David Goodwin            
DNF Chris Judy               
DNF Jamie Pair               
DNS Kevin Attkisson          
DNS Jed Schneider            
1 Deidre Winfield       40.53
2 Amy Wallace            0.47
3 Kelly Jones            0.53
4 Mandy Lozano           1.20
5 Melanie Swartz         1.46
6 Elizabeth Frye         2.46
7 Cara McCauley          2.57
8 Rachel Steele          3.22
9 Heidi VonTeitenberg    3.54
10 Alie Kenzer           4.05
11 Kim Sawyer            5.08
12 Lauren Trull          5.12
13 Angelina Stevens      5.36
14 Susan Wilson          5.40
15 Jamie Galambos        6.29
16 Kim Foland            7.10
17 Hadley Trotter        7.58
DNF Clara Beard              
DNF Stephanie White