Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from Canada

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Forest City Velodrome
Ontario Track Cup #6

Cross on the Rock #1


B.C. Cross Cup #1

Diver Lake, Nanaimo, September 18, 2005

The Nanaimo cross crew were very excited to be the first race in the BC Cup series for 2005. We showcased a new course at Diver Lake. This course was tight and packed as much distance as you can possibly fit into a small park. It featured soft grass, tight forest sections, steep and not as steep climbs and some quick short downhills. The weather was perfect and there was a large spectator contingent on hand to cheer on the racers.

Race 1: Beginners

A small but aggressive group of beginners took to the course right on time at noon. There was a tight battle at the front with a group of triathletes trying out cross. 5 of the 6 people in the beginner race were from a triathlon background! Sub 9.5 hr Ironman athlete Darren Mealing (Frontrunners-Adidas) battled with top Victoria female triathlete, Sarah Stewart for the first couple of laps. Darren then pulled away for the win. 16 year old Cody Ward (Frontrunners) came from last place to 4th getting quicker and sassier (as people commented on her "special" carry style) as the race went on.

Race 2: Intermediate, Women and Masters

With three races wrapped up into one there was a lot of action among the categories. Kelly Jones (Sugoi Factory) took an early lead in the women's race and looked smooth on the twisty course. In the Intermediate race Craig Richey (Cove) and Dave Perrin had a great battle going until Craig was able to pull away on one of the steep climbs and create a gap. In the Masters race Stefan Jakobsen (Frontrunners) and Jason Sandquist (Frontrunners) were head to head for half the race. A series of bobbles by Sandquist allowed Jakobsen time to pull away in search of riders from the intermediate wave.

Race 3: Expert

A large start for an Expert race in B.C. with 25 riders on the line. With a first lap 6 pack up for grabs the pace was very quick from the gun. One of the local legends of cross, Carter Hovey (BRI) took the first lap prime and then got a gap with three other riders; Drew MacKenzie (Sugoi-Giant), Rob Britton (Costal) and Kevin Noiles.

Behind these three riders the technical aspect of the course was taking its toll with several riders rolling their new cross tubulars and having to drop out or run to the pits. Among the casualties was Wendy Simms (Kona) who rolled her tubular on the first lap as she battled for position with her boyfriend, Normon Thibault (Frontrunners-Helly Hansen). There was a special betting pool going at the event pitting Normon and Wendy against each other with fans, spectators and supporters chipping in $5 and guessing the finish time gap. The rolled tire put a huge dent into the race plan for Wendy.

At the front the top riders were pulling away from the group with Hovey the main leader. On the last lap McKenzie was able to attack and take the win over Britton with Hovey coming in for 3rd. Simms came back to finish 13th. The awards and prizes were a show in themselves with several side competitions (including wind sprints) being held for the top drawer prizes. The coveted "Rusty Rim" Club Trophy for the series was handed over to Frontrunner who had 11 racers out at the event. Thanks to everyone that came out including volunteers, spectators and racers. Special thanks to: Frontrunners, Adidas, Helly Hansen, NRG (Nelson), Aerosmith Mountain Cycle and Nanaimo Parks and Recreation. For more information on Nanaimo cross races log onto: www.island-multi-sports.com.


1 Drew MacKenzie (Sugoi/Giant)                      
2 Rob Britton (Team Coastal)                        
3 Carter Hovey (BRI)                                
4 Kevin Noiles (Independent (Sackville, NS)         
5 Kevin Calhoun (Independent (Vancouver)            
6 Basse Clement (Rocky Mountain)                    
7 Matt Patterson (Bicisport)                        
8 Normon Thibault (Frontrunners)                    
9 Troy Woodburn (Independent (Victoria)             
10 Fred Hodgson (Frontrunners)                      
11 Andrew Kyle (Sugoi/Giant)                        
12 Michael Judge (SRAM/?)                           
13 Wendy Simms (Frontrunners)                       
14 Rick Rodland (Independent (Langley)              
15 Trevor Bant (Rocky Mountain)                     
16 Justin Mark (Tantalus/Giant)                     
17 Patrick Love (Independent (N. Vancouver)         
18 Dan Molgat-Roy (Pedalhead/Roadworks/Sleemans)    
19 Jonathan Gormiul (Steed)                         
20 Brad Collins (BSP)                               
21 Rob Gosselin (Atomic)                            
22 Jason Fluckner (Bayside)                         
23 James Sparling (Independent (Alberta0)           
24 Steve Cork (Business OBI/Escape Velocity)        
25 Dan Skinner (Independent (Victoria)              
1 Kelly Jones (Sugoi Factory)                       
2 Stacey Spencer (Cyclesmart/Javelin)               
3 Nicola Mann (Avanti/TI Cycles)                    
4 Shera Molday (Wedgewood)                          
1 Stefan Jakobsen (Frontrunners)                    
2 Jason Sandquist (Frontrunners)                    
3 Dave Nowak (Frontrunners)                         
4 Dave Cressman (Wedgewood)                         
5 Brent Hambleton (Independent)                     
6 Michael Hchuff (Pedalhead)                        
7 Dan Proulx (Elite Wave)                           
8 David Kenny (Juventus)                            
1 Craig Richey (Cove Bikes)                         
2 Dave Perrin (Victoria)                            
3 Rumon Carter (Frontrunners)                       
4 Paul Brend (Organic Athlete)                      
5 Brad Smith (Arrowsmith)                           
1 Darren Mealing (Frontrunners)                     
2 Sarah Stewart (Vancouver)                         
3 Ken Jones (Frontrunners)                          
4 Codie Ward (Frontrunners)                         
5 Meskat Javid (Vancouver)                          
6 Alison Keple (Frontrunners)                        

Local results 2004