Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Results & reports from the USA

Promoters wishing to submit results should send them to Cyclingnews

Blizzard Bike Club

Forest City Velodrome
Ontario Track Cup #6

Cross on the Rock #1


SoCal 'Cross Series #7

Bakersfield, CA November 6, 2005

Noble and Wong take Hart Park Cyclocross

Damn, that's tough!
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
Click for larger image
Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike Co)
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
Click for larger image
The men's race
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
Click for larger image
Mark Noble (Team Amgen)
Photo ©: Mitch Clinton
Click for larger image

The Southern California Cyclocross Cup reached its halfway point in grand fashion as nearly 100 riders took to the European style course of Hart Park in Bakersfield, CA, Sunday November 6th. With the sun shining and a beautiful day in prospect, riders and spectators took to the course for some hot cross' racing action.

Hosted by the Kern Wheelmen Bicycle Club of Bakersfield, an expo area with food, drink, music and fun greeted everyone. There were demo bikes by Cannondale, Specialized, and Redline. The Ritchey Wheelpit made its debut with a set of Pro wheels available to riders needing a change. Clif bar, XS Energy drink and the infamous SoCalCross booth with a slew of stickers, cowbells, custom Sock Guy/InCycle wool socks further complimented the race.

The course, a design by race director Sam Ames, was based upon time spent in Europe and countless hours watching Belgian and Dutch cross videos, "I always want a wide, flowing course. A course Sven Nys would be proud to ride on. You have to have some technical but still favour the traditional cross rider and I think this venue and course is the one of the best around," said Ames. Riders started fast as the course featured pavement, grass and one short but steep run up. Two high concrete curbs were a crowd favourite as a few riders were able to bunny hop them, while most stuck to the traditional dismount.

In the women's A race, series director Dorothy Wong of Kelly Bike Co took the win from rival Carolyn Popovic (Evomo) followed by Amy Bowen (Platinum) in third. "It was a tough race but such a good course. Loose in the corners and that run up! Wow…" said Wong. Popovic and Wong have traded wins this season and have a good battle on their hands.

In the men's A race it was Team Amgen getting the upper hand at the end of the first lap, but not before Nat Faulkner (Action Sports) a former Canadian national champion took the first lap Road ID prime. "I think I blew myself up a bit, but it was fun!" said Faulkner. With son Chance Noble (Scaryfast) bunny hopping the tall curbs and teammate Gary Hanson tagging along, national Masters Champion Mark Noble set the pace and the trio quickly built a 30 second gap on Faulkner. In the end Mark pulled away from his teammates to take the win with Chance taking the sprint for second and Hanson in third.

The last bit of business for the day was the drawing to benefit the Lance Armstrong Foundation. It's a SoCalCross mission as a Peloton Project member to raise money for the Foundation. Thanks to series sponsor Cannondale, a complete Cannondale Optimo cyclocross bike was donated and the lucky winner was Steve Christiansen of Bakersfield. Congratulations…we'll see you at the next race, Steve!

SoCalCross welcomes new sponsors FRS, Road ID, Fuel Belt, Scaryfast, Cowbell.com and Shower Pass Clothing to our sponsor family! Seven races to go, including our series finale weekend in Santa Barbara and the Santa Cross series final in Woodland Hills…don't miss it! More SoCalCross action coming your way next weekend on Sunday, November 13 with the Urban Cyclocross at Palos Verdes Estates. Check out www.socalcross.org for more information.


Men A
1 Mark Noble (Amgen)                               
2 Chance Noble (Scary Fast)                        
3 Gary Hanson (Amgen)                              
4 Nat Faulkner (Simply Fit)                        
5 Jeff Herring (Celo Pacific)                      
6 Jeff Prinz (SDBC)                                
7 Sam Ames (Simply Fit)                            
8 Mark Vandermelon (Coast Velo)                    
9 Thad Sparrow (Celo Pacific)                      
10 Derek Hernon (3 Pines/Bear Valley Bikes)        
Women A
1 Dorothy Wong (Kelly Bike Co.)                    
2 Carolyn Popovic (Evomo)                          
3 Amy Bowen (Platinum Performance)                 
4 Mandy Eakins (Velo Sport)                        
5 Keli Roberts (South Bay Wheelmen)                
Men B
1 Frederick Bottger (PAA/Merrill Lynch)            
2 Bernard Georges (United/Stoller)                 
3 Joshua Rebol (Echelon)                           
4 Ryan Ferro (PAA)                                 
5 Michael Bennett (unatt)                          
6 Lyle Warner (Subaru/Helens)                      
7 Brian Monroe (Kern Wheelmen)                     
8 Michael Lilly (Shoreline Cycles)                 
9 Joe Gutcher (unatt)                              
10 David Boulton (Met Rx/Alliance)                 
Women B
1 Heidi Kanayan (3 Pines/Bear Valley Bikes/661)    
2 Megan Cordes (Unatt)                             
3 Elizabeth Gentry (Team Pro Cyclery)              
4 Donna Bertiger (Unatt)                           
5 Karen Naz (South Bay)                            
Men C
1 Jason Lowitz (PAA/Merrill Lynch)                 
2 Michael Lilly (Shoreline)                        
3 David Rous (Kern Wheelmen)                       
4 Alex Hall (South Bay)                            
5 Roy Ervin (Shoreline)                            
6 Matt Gunnell (PAA/Merrill Lynch)                 
7 Roberto Jourdan (SDBC)                           
8 Jason Smith (unatt)                              
9 Mason Miller (unatt)                             
10 Todd Whitehouse (ADT)                           
Junior men
1 Didier Jourdain (SDBC)                           
2 Ian K. Moir (Major Motion)                       
3 Miles Ludi (SDBC)                                
4 Morgan Ryan (Scary Fast)                         
5 Ben Bertiger (PAA)                               
6 Ian Brasier (unatt)                              
Junior girls
1 Kendall Ryan (Scary Fast)                        
2 Amanda Duarte (SDBC)                             
3 Alexis Ryan (Scary Fast)                         
Master 30-39
1 Jeff Prinz (SDBC)                                
2 Mark Vandermelon (Coast Velo)                    
3 Robert Weyman (Century Road Club)                
4 James Goldstein (?)                              
5 Thad Sparrow (Celo Pacific)                      
6 Londo Whitney (unatt)                            
Master 40-49
1 Chris Gallup (Celo Pacific)                      
2 Jim Pappe (Simply Fit)                           
3 Larry VanZant (Simply Fit)                       
4 Alan Braff (unatt)                               
5 Brad House (Peninsula)                           
6 Matt Van Horn (unatt)                            
7 Wayne Cottrell (Ogden One)                       
8 Marshall Brown (Back Alley)                      
9 Greg Townsend                                    
Master 50+
1 Rick Swanson (Radsport)                          
2 Jon Miller (Amgen)                               
3 Jon Livesay (PAA/Merrill Lynch)                  
4 Kevin Ryan (Amgen)                               
5 Ricky Russell (Met Rx/Alliance)                  
6 Robert Meeker (Specialized)                      
7 Robert Llamas (PAA/Merrill Lynch)                
8 R. Lee Willmore (Celo Pacific)                   
10 John Rahn (Amgen)                               
11 Randi Perkins (Shoreline Cycles)                

Local results 2004