Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mt Hood Classic
Photo ©: Swift

 UCI codes explained

Michael R. Rabe Cyclo-Cross - C2

USA, October 2, 2004


Weinert doesn't look back

Fall weather came just in time for the second annual Michael R. Rabe Cyclo-Cross Race. This UCI Class 2 event saw riders from all over the Midwest and Canada toe the line for some of the first UCI points up for grabs in the 2004 season.

Unlike last year's event that saw tight group racing at Bloomer Park, this year's venue saw just the opposite as the Elite Men were spread all over the place. Waterford Hills Speedway offered two sets of natural obstacles in addition to the one set of barriers allowed by the UCI. The first obstacle of the day was a gravel pit that proved impossible to ride, while the second was a set of logs that some of the more talented riders were able to bunnyhop. The course also had more changes in elevation compared to last year, forcing more of a natural selection.

Jeff Weinert (Cane Creek/Tailwind.net) won the holeshot and never looked back. The fight for Weinert's wheel was taken up by Jer Walker (Cane Creek/Tailwind.net), Nathan Chown (Gears Racing/Fuji), Phil Noble (Airborne.net), Ben Turner (TIAA-CREF/Clif Bar), and Jake Stechmann (Subway-Express). Walker was the first to go with a rolled tire. Chown chased, but crashed later and lost contact. Turner went next and got the closest, but also crashed. He chased steadily and held on for second. Up front, Weinert seemed to be the only rider not experiencing any bad luck as he rode smoothly, padding his gap slowly as each lap wore on.

The battle for third would get exciting as former Collegiate National Champion Jed Schneider (Alan Factory Team) made contact with Noble and Stechmann. Stechmann was the next victim of bad luck as he crashed heavily. Noble and Schneider would ride together until the closing laps, when Noble pulled away to cinch third place. Scneider would hold onto fourth with Stechmann coming in fifth.

Coming off a win the week before, Weinert (former Master's National Champion) was able to cruise to his first UCI victory with a margin of 1:04.


1 Jeff Weinert (Cane Creek/Tailwind.net) 1.04.48
2 Ben Turner (TIAA-CREF)/Clif Bar)          1.04
3 Phil Noble (Airborne.net)                 1.51
4 Jed Schneider (Alan Factory Team)         2.04
5 Jacob Stechmann (Subway-Express)          2.34
6 Bjorn Selander (Alan Factory Team)        4.22
7 Nathan Chown (Gears Racing/Fuji)          4.37
8 Ryan Myers (PBF Cycling)                  4.45
9 Jer Walker (Cane Creek/Tailwind.net)      4.45
10 Jeff Bannink (Bike Fit)                  5.09
11 Mark Hekman (Wolverine Sports)           6.02
12 Al Senft (Nuvo/Bap)                      6.04

1 lap behind

13 Vince Roberge (AAVC/Team Bikesport)
14 Nathanael Ziccardi (Wolverine Sports)
15 Steve Mlujeak (U.S Armed Forces)
16 Jason Lummis (Bells Beer/Trek)
17 Joe Bellante (Biowheels Racing)
18 Billy Holmes (Intense Factory)
19 Nathan Griffith (Ford/Giant Bikes)
20 Todd Turner (Airborne.net)