Home Cyclingnews TV   News  Tech   Features   Road   MTB   BMX   Cyclo-cross   Track    Photos    Fitness    Letters   Search   Forum  

Recently on Cyclingnews.com

Mont Ventoux
Photo ©: Sirotti

 UCI codes explained

Int. Radquer Hittnau - C2

Hittnau, Switzerland, November 3, 2002

2001 Results    Results     Past winners

Back into the mud

By Thomas Frischknecht

Unlike the past years I started my cross season early without taking a break after the mountain bike season. I showed my presence with a 7th place in Berlin on October 3rd, behind the top pros from Belgium and Holland. One week later I finished up the mountain bike season with a 4th place at the world's largest mountain bike race, the Roc d' Azur in the south of France.

After a two week training camp in Tuscany I was ready for the Swiss cross season, which started this weekend. With the month of November the nasty weather is back in Chocolateland. The season started with hard core conditions. Heavy rain and strong winds made it clear that cyclo-cross is nothing for sissies.

A lead group of four with Beat Wabel, Kamil Ausbuher, Luca Bramati and myself formed first half of the race. I attacked three four times but never got a good enough lead to get away. I decided the race towards the end with another tempo forcing to win solo.

Nice way to start the season! It looks like I still benefit from my good shape I had at the end of the mountain bike season. But I have no idea how long this will last. I've been training and racing since mid-February!


Cat. A (Elite Men)

1 Thomas Frischknecht (Swi) Swisspower Team           59.47.00
2 Kamil Ausbuher (Cze)                                    0.57
3 Beat Wabel (Swi) Saeco-Cannondale
4 Luca Bramati (Ita)                                      1.43
5 Jonathan Page (USA)                                     2.48
6 Michi Baumgartner (Swi) VC Hittnau
7 Jan Ramsauer (Swi) Saeco-Cannondale                     3.17
8 Robert Glajza (Cze)                                     3.26
9 David Rusch (Swi) GS Wetzikon-WD40-BiXS                 4.15
10 Jens Reuker (Ger)                                      4.31
11 Dominique Arnould FR                                   4.42
12 Tom De Kort (Bel)                                      4.45
13 Christian Wasmer (Ger)                                 5.05
14 Joseph Soukup (Cze)                                    5.09
15 Jean-Pierre Lejten (Ned)                               5.18
16 Beat Morf (Swi)
17 Giuseppe Atzeni (Swi) GS Empella Suisse                5.25
18 Ralph Näf (Swi) Team Koba                              5.50
19 Roland Schätti (Swi) GS Wetzikon-WD40-BiXS             5.54
20 Michael Müller (Swi) GS Empella Suisse                 6.20
21 Reto Hess (Swi) Inter Flon-Felt VC Hittnau             6.34
22 Marco Baggenstos (Swi) Inter Flon-Felt                 6.57
23 Simi Zahner (Swi) GS Wetzikon-WD40-BiXS                7.19
24 Markus Amstutz (Swi) Inter Flon-Felt VC Hittnau        7.43
25 Mark Schuppli (Swi) GS Hittnau-Luongo-Haba            1 Lap
26 Kevin Bossaert (Bel)
27 Leo Karstens (Ger)
28 Andre Rudiger (Ger)
29 Maik Müller (Ger)
30 Alain Bischofberger (Swi) Inter Flon-Felt VC Hittna
31 Tyson Apostol (USA)
32 Christoph Cheseaux (Can)
33 Daniel Parpan (Swi)
34 Patrick Dubacheer (Swi) GS Empella Suisse
35 Stefan Nesensohn (Aut)
Starters: 37
Classified: 35
Cat. B (Juniors, Amateurs, Seniors)
1 Thorsten Struch (Ger)                               51.46.00
2 Pirmin Lang (Swi) VC Pfaffnau Pneuhaus Frank            1.36
3 Grégory Devaud (Swi) Cyclophile Aigle                   1.46
4 Cornelius Häring (Swi) VC Kaisten                       1.56
5 Till Schaltegger (Swi) GS Wetzikon-WD40-BiXS            2.02
6 Benjamin Hill (Ger)                                     2.26
7 Stefan Trafelet (Swi) GS Velo Reichmuthz-Girsberger     2.37
8 Andreas Moser (Swi) VC Bützberg                         2.53
9 Dominik Parpan (Swi) GS Luongo VMC Liestal              3.10
10 Alain Rey (Swi) Cyclo Lausannois                       3.23
11 Roger Jakob (Swi) VC Bauma Schoch Group                3.41
12 Damian Knoepfli (Swi) VC Estavayer-Dom Cycle           3.57
13 Ralf Hermann (Swi) RMV Elgg
14 Sämi Wüthrich (Swi) MTB Cycletech                      4.10
15 Beat Bertschinger (Swi) VC Bauma Schoch Group          4.22
16 Joel Frey (Swi) VC Bützberg                            4.46
17 Rafael Visinelli (Ita)                                 5.17
18 Anton Ballat (Swi) VC Steinmaur                        6.01
19 Corentin Fazan (Swi) Cyclophile Aigle                  6.48
20 Andreas Hoppler (Swi) VC Pfaffnau Pneuhaus Frank       7.17
21 Thomas Volkart (Swi) VC Steinmaur                      7.59
22 Dominique Gross (Swi) RBC Nordwest                     8.02
23 Marcel Lattmann (Swi) VC Hittnau                       8.41
24 Stedano Capitelli (Ita)                                9.25
25 Frederik Meier (Swi) VC Steinmaur                      9.32
26 Patrick Schmid (Swi) VC Steinmaur                      9.45
27 Franke Ott (Ger) SC Thalkirchdorf                     10.00
28 Sebastian Jampen (Swi) VC Hittnau                     1 Lap
29 Mathias Baur (Swi) VC Affoltern
30 Hanspeter Kunz (Swi) VC Steinmaur
Cat. C (Beginners)
1 René Lang (Swi) VC Pfaffnau Pneuhaus Frank          25.51.00
2 Rafael Nick (Swi) VC Pfaffnau Pneuhaus Frank            0.34
3 Marcel Wyss (Swi) VC Bärau                              1.35
4 Kevin Leibacher (Swi) RV Bürgeln Team Viner             1.56
5 Marcel Rohner (Swi) RV Uster Flatera                    2.11
6 Sven Suter (Swi) VC Bützberg LTV                        2.44
7 Michael Wechsler (Swi) VC Pfaffnau Pneuhaus Frank       2.59
8 Guillaume Dessibourg (Swi) VC Estavayer-le-lac          3.06
9 Sascha Pauli (Ger) Germany                              3.34
10 Marguet Tristan (Swi)                                  3.53
11 Roger Rüegger (Swi) RV Sulz
12 Marco Stefanutti (Swi) RV Uster Flatera                4.03
13 Michael Ingran (Swi) Cyclophile Aigle
14 Robin Traber (Swi) RV Bürglen Team Viner               5.07
15 Peter Kämpfer (Swi) VC Bützberg LTV                    5.33
Cat. F (Women)
1 Alexandra Bähler (Swi) Velo Passion                 29.02.00
2 Katrin Helmcke (Swi) Germany                            1.39
3 Lea Flückiger (Swi) VC Bützberg - LTV                   4.34
4 Belinda Hirtle (Swi) VMC Aristau                        4.55
5 Cori Page (USA) USA                                     6.45

Courtesy of Swiss Cycling News

Past winners

2001 Beat Wabel (Swi) GS Focus Gonso                     
2000 Beat Wabel (Swi)
1999 Beat Wabel (Swi)
Past winners by Mario Stiehl, www.world-of-cycling.com